fbpx

Akram A.

27.07.2020
TRIAL International rappelle que jusqu'à ce qu'une éventuelle condamnation soit entrée en force, toute personne accusée ou poursuivie par une juridiction nationale ou internationale est présumée innocente.

Faits

Akram A., un réfugié syrien, est soupçonnée d’appartenance au groupe terroriste Etat Islamique (EI). En tant que tel, il aurait eu le contrôle d’un checkpoint en Syrie.

Début 2016, Akram A. aurait arrêté une femme syrienne qui tentait de fuir le pays avec ses enfants. Akram A. l’aurait attirée dans une maison en lui faisant croire qu’il lui donnerait un permis de sortie et l’aurait violée.

Procédure

Le 7 février 2017, Akram A. a été arrêté à Mecklenburg, en Poméranie (Allemagne) et placé en détention pour soupçon d’appartenance à l’EI. L’accusation de viol contre la femme syrienne (qui pourrait constituer un crime de guerre) a été ajoutée dans un second temps.

Le 12 juin 2017, le Procureur fédéral allemand a demandé au juge d’investigation de la Cour suprême fédérale d’annuler le mandant d’arrêt contre Akram A. et de le libérer, car de nouveaux éléments remettaient en doute la validité des charges.

©2020 trialinternational.org | All rights reserved | Avertissement | Statuts | Designed and Produced by ACW

Akram A.

01.03.2018
Trial Watch would like to remind its users that any person charged by national or international authorities is presumed innocent until proven guilty.

Facts

Akram A., a Syrian refugee, is allegedly a member of the Islamic State (IS) terrorist group in command of a checkpoint in IS-controlled territory in Syria.

In early 2016, he is believed to have stopped a Syrian woman who was trying to escape the territory with her children. Akram A. was accused of luring the woman to a house under the pretext of getting her an exit permit and raping her.

Legal procedure

On 7 February 2017, Akram A. was arrested in Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania, northeast Germany and remanded in custody on suspicion of belonging to the IS terrorist group. He was further accused of a war crime for raping a Syrian woman.

On 12 June 2017, the German federal prosecutor requested that the investigating judge of the Federal Supreme Court waive the arrest warrant against Akram A. and release him from custody due to new findings questioning the validity of the original charges.

 

Fact Sheet
Name: Akram A.
Nationality: Syrian
Context: Syria
Charges: War crimes and membership in a terrorist group
Status: Suspect released due to lack of evidence
Particulars: Ongoing proceedings in Germany for membership in a terrorist group and war crimes allegedly committed in Syrian in 2016