Charles Munyaneza

04.06.2013 ( Modifié le : 20.07.2019 )
Trial Watch rappelle que jusqu'à ce qu'une éventuelle condamnation soit entrée en force, toute personne accusée ou poursuivie par une juridiction nationale ou internationale est présumée innocente.

Faits

Charles Munyaneza est né en 1958 au Rwanda. Au moment des faits, il était maire de la commune de Kinyamakara, située dans la préfecture de Gikongoro au sud du Rwanda. Il aurait été l’un des plus proches collaborateurs d’Aloys Simba, officier de l’armée rwandaise, condamné à 25 ans de prison par le Tribunal Pénal International pour le Rwanda (TPIR) en décembre 2005 pour génocide et extermination constitutive de crime contre l’humanité.

Selon un rapport publié par African Rights (association de défense des droits de l’homme basée à Londres), Munyaneza aurait coordonné une série de massacres à grande échelle, notamment au centre de recherche et d’expérimentation de l’ISAR (Institut des Sciences Agronomiques du Rwanda) d’Isonga situé à Ruhashya, dans la préfecture de Butare, ainsi qu’à l’église catholique de Cyanika située dans la province de Gikongoro. Munyaneza aurait aussi ordonné la mise en place de barrages sur les routes dans la commune de Kinyamakara afin de vérifier l’identité des passants et d’arrêter les Tutsis. Il aurait, de plus, participé directement à certains massacres.

Vers le 19 ou 20 avril 1994, Munyaneza et Aloys Simba, parmi d’autres, auraient organisé et ordonné d’encercler et d’attaquer l’école technique de Murambi, où 50’000 Tutsi s’étaient mis à l’abri des massacres. Seule une dizaine de personnes ont survécu à l’attaque contre l’école technique de Murambi.

Vers juin 1994, Munyaneza aurait fui le Rwanda pour se réfugier en Afrique du Sud. Il a ensuite rejoint la Grande-Bretagne en 1999, où il a déposé une demande d’asile. En 2002, Munyaneza a obtenu le statut de réfugié.

Le 29 janvier 2006, le journal britannique “Sunday Times” a rapporté que Munyaneza vivait paisiblement avec sa famille dans la ville de Bedford, dans le quartier de Putnoe, en Grande-Bretagne, où il est nettoyeur et vit sous une fausse identité en tant que “Charles Muneza”.

Procédure Légale

Le procureur du Tribunal Pénal International pour le Rwanda a exhorté les autorités britanniques à poursuivre et juger Munyaneza pour les crimes dénoncés. En février 2006, le Rwanda a émis un mandat d’arrêt international contre Munyaneza pour les crimes allégués de génocide et de crime contre l’humanité.

Le 28 décembre 2006, Charles Munyaneza ainsi que trois autres Rwandais recherchés par le Rwanda (Vincent BajinyaCelestin Ugirashebuja et Emmanuel Nteziryayo), ont été arrêtés par la police britannique, en raison de leur participation présumée au génocide de 1994.

Une audience d’extradition a commencé le 24 septembre 2007 à Londres. Le 6 juin 2008, la juridiction de première instance a accepté la demande d’extradition des quatre hommes vers le Rwanda. La Haute Cour a annulé cette décision en appel le 8 avril 2009, estimant que les garanties d’un procès équitable au Rwanda n’été pas apportées (risque de déni de justice et d’intimidation des témoins de la défense). La Cour a ordonné leur libération.

Le 30 mai 2013, après une nouvelle demande d’extradition du Rwanda, la police britannique a arrêté à nouveau Emmanuel Nteziryayo, Charles Munyaneza, Vincent Bajinya, Celestin Ugirashebuja et Charles Mutabaruka. Le 21 décembre 2015, les juridictions britanniques ont une nouvelle fois refusé la demande d’extradition du gouvernement rwandais. La décision relève que les garanties en matière de procès équitable et de respect des droits fondamentaux ne sont pas remplies pour les cinq intéressés malgré l’évolution de la législation rwandaise.

Les audiences d’extradition devant la Haute Cour se sont ouvertes le 28 novembre 2016, aboutissant à nouveau à un refus d’extrader. En janvier 2018, le procureur général rwandais Jean Bosco Mutangana et le procureur Jean Bosco Siboyintore, chef de la section de recherche des suspects du génocide rwandais, se sont rendus à Londres afin de formuler une requête auprès du Royaume-Uni dans le but qu’une enquête soit menée contre les cinq individus suspectés d’avoir pris part au génocide. Ils ont rappelé l’obligation du Royaume-Uni de juger ou d’extrader ces individus. Suite à cela la section d’enquête sur les crimes de guerre a signalé être en train d’évaluer les preuves disponibles.

Le 9 avril 2019, la police anglaise a annoncé que les allégations contre Charles Munyaneza et les quatre autres individus étaient en train d’être réexaminées. Le Ministre d’État à la Sécurité et aux Crimes économiques britannique Ben Wallace a déclaré que les enquêtes concernant les cinq hommes pourraient prendre jusqu’à cinq ans. Il a cependant également déclaré aux membres du Parlement que le gouvernement britannique mettrait tous les ressources nécessaires à disposition afin que justice puisse être rendue. Il a annoncé que de officiers ont été envoyés au Rwanda pour enquêter sur le terrain.

Point Fort

La décision de la Haute Cour du 8 avril 2009 constitue la première fois qu’une cour britannique bloque une demande d’extradition d’un gouvernement étranger en considérant que les garanties relatives au droit à un procès équitable (prévu à l’article 6 de la Convention européenne de sauvegarde des droits de l’homme) ne sont pas suffisantes. A noter que depuis la Cour européenne des droits de l’homme (27 octobre 2011, Affaire Ahorugeze c. Suède) et le TPIR (16 décembre 2011, Affaire Jean Uwinkindi c. Le Procureur) ont considéré que les autorités rwandaises apportaient les garanties nécessaires à un procès équitable.

Contexte

Le Rwanda était historiquement peuplé par trois groupes sociaux distincts, appelés Hutu, Tutsi et Twa. Entre les mois d’avril et de juillet 1994, le pays a été déchiré par un génocide sanglant, au cours duquel les extrémistes Hutus ont pris pour cible les Tutsis et les Hutus modérés. La Mission des Nations Unies au Rwanda (MINUAR) était impuissante contre les génocidaires, les casques bleus n’étant pas assez nombreux.

LE TRIBUNAL PENAL INTERNATIONAL POUR LE RWANDA (TPIR)

Afin de faciliter le processus de réconciliation nationale et de promouvoir la paix dans le pays, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a adopté le 8 novembre 1994 la Résolution 955 instituant le Tribunal pénal international pour le Rwanda (TPIR), situé à Arusha, en Tanzanie.

La fonction du Tribunal était de poursuivre les auteurs de crimes de génocide, crimes contre l’humanité et crimes de guerre commis entre le 1 janvier et le 31 décembre 1994 au Rwanda. 93 personnes ont été inculpées devant le TPIR.

Le TPIR a été dissout le 31 décembre 2015.

Le Conseil de Sécurité des Nations Unies a établi dans sa résolution 1966 (2010) un Mécanisme International Résiduel pour les Tribunaux Pénaux (ci-après ‘le Mécanisme’) afin de prendre en charge les fonctions et activités qui resteront en place suite à la fermeture du TPIR, ainsi que de celle du Tribunal Pénal International pour l’ex-Yougoslavie (ou TPIY). Le Mécanisme, qui fonctionne depuis le 1 juillet 2012, a pris en charge les fonctions passées du TPIR telles que l’exécution des peines des personnes condamnées par le TPIR, la recherche, l’arrestation et la poursuite des fugitifs assignés en justice devant le Mécanisme, et enfin le soin et la protection des témoins.

LES JURIDICTIONS ‘GACACA’

Dès 1998, des réflexions ont été engagées – sous la direction du Président de la République rwandaise – sur le possible recours à des tribunaux traditionnels afin de soutenir le système judiciaire ordinaire et le TPIR. Une commission a été créée pour étudier cette possibilité, et son rapport a été la base de la loi organique du 26 janvier 2001, qui a créé les Juridictions Gacaca.

Ces tribunaux étaient chargés de juger les auteurs matériaux du génocide, en dehors des ‘planificateurs’ qui devaient être jugé devant les juridictions ordinaires. Les juridictions Gacaca étaient constituées d’assemblées populaires élues composées de juges non professionnels. La composition et le fonctionnement de ces tribunaux ont soulevé plusieurs préoccupations au sujet du respect du droit à un procès équitable.

Selon les autorités rwandaises, au cours de leur fonctionnement, les tribunaux Gacaca ont jugé presque deux millions de personnes. Le 18 juin 2012, le président rwandais Paul Kagame a annoncé la fin officielle de l’activité des juridictions Gacaca.

Charles Munyaneza

04.06.2013 ( Last modified: 20.07.2019 )
Trial Watch would like to remind its users that any person charged by national or international authorities is presumed innocent until proven guilty.

Facts

Charles Munyaneza was born in 1958 in Rwanda. At the time of the alleged crimes, he was the mayor of the commune of Kinyamakara, in the Gikongoro prefecture, in southern Rwanda. Munyaneza was also known to be one of the closest allies of Aloys Simba, an officer in the Rwandan army who was sentenced to 25 years of imprisonment by the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR) in December 2005 for genocide and extermination as crimes against humanity.

According to a report published by the African Rights (association of human rights defenders based in London), Munyaneza allegedly coordinated a series of massacres on a grand scale, specifically to kill Tutsis, but also of having contributed to the organization of the massacre of Tutsis in the prefectures of Gikongoro and Butare.

According to a report issued by African Rights (a human rights association based in London), Munyaneza coordinated a series of large scale massacres, notably at the Isonga Centre for Experimental Research of the Rwandan College of Agricultural Sciences in Ruhashya, in Butare prefecture, as well as in the Cyanika catholic church located in Gikongoro province. Munyaneza also reportedly ordered placement of roadblocks in the Kinyamakara province to enable identity checks resulting in the arrest of Tutsis. In addition, he allegedly participated in some of the killings in person.

On 19 or 20 April 1994, Munyaneza and Aloys Simba, amongst others, were said to have organised and ordered the encirclement of and attack on the Murambi technical school, where 50’000 Tutsis had sought refuge from the ongoing massacres. Only about a dozen people survived the attack.

Towards the end of June 1994, facing the advance of the troops of the RPF (Rwandan Patriotic Front, an opposition movement composed essentially of Tutsi refugees, led by Paul Kagame), Munyaneza fled Rwanda. He went into hiding first in South Africa. Subsequently, in 1999 he moved to Great Britain, where he lodged a request for asylum. In 2002, Munyaneza acquired a status of political refugee.

On 29 January 2006, the British newspaper “Sunday Times” revealed in a report that Munyaneza was living peacefully with his family in the town of Bedford, Great Britain, where he was employed as a cleaner and lived under a false identity under the name of “Charles Muneza”.

Legal Procedure

The prosecutor of the ICTR urged the British authorities to ensure that justice is served for the crimes that Munyaneza allegedly committed. In February 2006, Rwanda issued an international arrest warrant against Munyaneza for genocide and crimes against humanity.

On 28 December 2006, Munyanezaas well as three other Rwandans (Vincent BajinyaCelestin Ugirashebuja et Emmanuel Nteziryayo) were arrested by the British police due to their alleged participation in the 1994 genocide.

The extradition hearing started on 24 September 2007 in London. On 6 June 2008, a court of first instance accepted the request for extradition of the four men to Rwanda. The High Court annulled this decision on appeal on 8 April 2009, declaring that the right to a fair trial of the defendants would not be respected (there was a substantial risk of denial of justice and intimidation of witnesses). The Court ordered their release.

On 30 May 2013, after a new request for extradition to Rwanda,  and subsequently the British police arrested Emmanuel Nteziryayo, Charles Munyaneza, Vincent Bajinya, Celestin Ugirashebuja and Charles Mutabaruka again.  On 21 December 2015, a British court refused a repeated request for extradition. It was stated in the decision that despite the progress in Rwandan legislation, the guarantees of fair trial were not sufficient so far.

The extradition hearing before  the High court of Justice started on 28 November 2016 and resulted in yet another refusal of the request.  In January 2018, Rwandan Prosecutor General Jean Bosco Mutangana and Prosecutor Jean Bosco Siboyintore, Head of the Genocide Suspects Tracking Unit, travelled to London to request the United Kingdom to open an investigation against the five individuals suspected of having participated in the 1994 genocide. They recalled the obligation of the United Kingdom to try or extradite such individuals. As a result, the War Crimes Unit reported that it was assessing the available evidence.

On 9 April 2019, British police announced that the allegations against Charles Munyaneza and other four individuals were being examined. Minister of State for Security and Economic Crime Ben Wallace announced that investigations concerning those five individuals might take up to five years. However, he also told members of the Parliament that the UK government would provide all the necessary resources at its disposal so that justice can be served. He announced that officers were sent to Rwanda to investigate on the ground.

Highlight

The decision by the High Court of 8 April 2009 is thought to be the first time when an English court has ever blocked an extradition request from a foreign government on the ground that it would violate Article 6 of the European Convention on Human Rights, which safeguards the right to a fair trial. The European Court of Human Rights (27 October 2011, Ahorugeze v. Sweden) and the ICTR (16 December 2011, Jean Uwinkindi v. The Prosecutor) judged that Rwandan authorities provided sufficient guarantees concerning the right to a fair trial.

Context

Rwanda has been historically inhabited by three groups, known as Hutu, Tutsi and Twa. Between April and July 1994, the country was torn apart by a bloody genocide, during which extremist Hutus targeted Tutsis and moderate Hutus. The United Nations Assistance Mission for Rwanda (UNAMIR) was powerless against those committing the genocide, as the peacekeeping troops were largely outnumbered the genocidaires and the international community notoriously failed to respond otherwise at the relevant period.

THE INTERNATIONAL CRIMINAL TRIBUNAL FOR RWANDA (ICTR)

In hopes of facilitating the process of national reconciliation and to promote peace in the country, on 8 November 1994 the United Nations Security Council adopted Resolution 955. The Resolution established the ad hoc International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR), located in Arusha, Tanzania.

The Tribunal’s function was to prosecute perpetrators of crimes of genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes committed between 1 January and 31 December 1994 in the territory of Rwanda, by Rwandan citizens and those committed in neighbouring states. During its existence, 93 persons have been indicted by the ICTR, the Tribunal was officially closed in 2015.

Some proceedings are however still ongoing before the so-called International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals (or “the Mechanism”). The Mechanism was established by the United Nations Security Council Resolution 1966 (2010) and took over the remaining functions of both the ICTR and the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY). The Mechanism has been functioning since 1 July 2012 in parallel with the Tribunals and nowadays as an exclusive institution. It gradually took  over the functions of the ICTR and ICTR, including the enforcement of sentences of those convicted and sentenced by the Tribunal, the tracking, arrest and prosecution of fugitives earmarked for trial at the Mechanism, and the protection of witnesses.

THE GACACA COURTS

In 1998, discussions began under the direction of the President of the Republic of Rwanda. Paul Kagame, about the possible use of traditional courts to support the ordinary Rwandan judicial system and the ICTR. A commission was created to study this possibility, and its report provided the basis of the Organic Law of 26 January 2001, which created the Gacaca Courts.

These courts were in charge of trying the low and middle-level perpetrators of the genocide, apart from the “planners” who should have been tried before the national courts. The Gacaca courts were composed of elected popular assemblies, made up of non-professional judges. The composition and functioning of such courts raised several concerns about the respect of fair trial guarantees.

According to Rwandan authorities, during their functioning, the Gacaca courts tried almost two million people. On 18 June 2012 Rwandan President Paul Kagame announced the official end of Gacaca courts’ activity.