fbpx

Fares A. B.

27.07.2020
TRIAL International rappelle que jusqu'à ce qu'une éventuelle condamnation soit entrée en force, toute personne accusée ou poursuivie par une juridiction nationale ou internationale est présumée innocente.

FAITS

Fares A.B. est un citoyen syrien résident en Allemagne. Il aurait rejoint l’EI à l’été 2014. Il aurait été déployé dans une prison détenue par l’organisation, où il aurait maltraité au minimum trois prisonniers. En outre, il est accusé d’avoir mené des raids, d’avoir transporté des personnes nouvellement arrêtées à la prison et d’avoir contrôlé des checkpoints.

Lors d’un examen à son poste de contrôle, il aurait frappé un chauffeur de camion à la tête au moyen d’une mitrailleuse et avec l’aide d’un autre membre de l’EI. De plus, il est accusé d’avoir participé à la fusillade d’un prisonnier capturé par EI pour avoir blasphémé. Les auteurs auraient publiquement exposé le cadavre du défunt sur la place du village.

 

PROCEDURE

Le 12 juin 2019, dans le cadre d’une enquête structurelle sur les crimes internationaux commis en Syrie, la Cour supérieure régionale de Stuttgart a inculpé Fares A. B. pour son appartenance alléguée à l’organisation terroriste État Islamique (EI) et pour crimes de guerre.

©2020 trialinternational.org | All rights reserved | Avertissement | Statuts | Designed and Produced by ACW

UJAR

Your download of the UJAR has started. Please fill out the following form to stay informed about universal jurisdiction and our work!

x

Fares A. B.

27.07.2020 ( Last modified: 25.03.2021 )
TRIAL International reminds its users that any person charged by national or international authorities is presumed innocent until proven guilty.

FACTS

The accused joined ISIS in the summer of 2014. He was deployed in an ISIS prison where he allegedly mistreated at least three prisoners. Furthermore, he is alleged to have conducted raids, brought newly arrested individuals to the prison and guarded checkpoints.

On one occasion, during an examination at his checkpoint, he allegedly hit a truck driver on the head with a machine gun, jointly with another ISIS member. Fares A. B. furthermore is alleged to have participated in the shooting of a prisoner captured by ISIS for alleged blasphemy. The perpetrators allegedly placed the corpse of the deceased at the village square for public display.

 

LEGAL PROCEDURE

On 12 June 2019, the Higher Regional Court of Stuttgart indicted Syrian national Fares A. B. for membership in the terrorist organization Islamic State (ISIS) and war crimes.

On 19 November 2020, the Higher Regional Court of Stuttgart found the Syrian national Fares A. B. guilty of war crimes, attempted homicide in one case and torture in two cases, as well as membership in a terrorist organization. The trial was based on the indictment of 12 June 2019.

©2021 trialinternational.org | All rights reserved | Privacy Policy | Statutes | Designed and Produced by ACW