Luciano Benjamín Menendez

21.04.2016 ( Modifié le : 22.05.2018 )
Trial Watch rappelle que jusqu'à ce qu'une éventuelle condamnation soit entrée en force, toute personne accusée ou poursuivie par une juridiction nationale ou internationale est présumée innocente.

faits

Luciano Menéndez est né le 19 juin 1927 dans le quartier San Martín de Buenos Aires. Il entre au Colegio Nacional de Guerra et est nommé chef de la 5e Brigade d’Infanterie de montagne durant l’Opération Independencia contre les groupes de gauche.

En 1975, il est nommé Chef du 3e Corps d’Armée. Il ordonne l’arrestation de centaines de personnes (syndicalistes, étudiants, professeurs, journalistes et toute personne suspectée de sympathie pour la gauche). Son opposition au commandement militaire le conduit à être soupçonné d’avoir conduit l’insurrection de 1979 qui fut écrasée. Il est alors emprisonné pour 90 jours et démis de ses fonctions par le général Viola.

Menendez est mort le 27 février 2018 à 90 ans dans un hôpital de Cordoba, Argentine.

procédure légale

LES VICTIMES APPARTENANT AU « PARTIDO REVOLUCIONARIO DE LOS TRABAJADORES”

Lorsque les lois du Point Final ont été annulées en 2006, la justice a ouvert un premier procès pour arrestation illégale, torture et assassinat de Hilda Flora Palacios, Humberto Horacio Brandalisis, Carlos Enrique Lajas y Raúl Osvaldo Cardozo, quatre opposants du Partido Revolucionario de los Trabajadores (PRT).

Le 24 juillet 2008, Menendez est condamné à la prison à vie. Il a fait appel. Le 2 septembre 2010, la Cour de cassation a confirmé le jugement de première instance.

Antonio Domingo Bussi a également été condamné à la perpétuité.

DISPARITION FORCEE DE GUILLERMO VARGAS AIGNASSE

Accusé de la disparition du politicien Guillermo Vargas Aignasse, Menéndez a été condamné à la prison à perpétuité le 28 août 2008.

L’AFFAIRE RICARDO FERMIN ALBAREDA

Menéndez est accusé d’avoir séquestré, torturé et commis un homicide aggravé sur le commissaire adjoint Ricardo Fermín Albareda, le 25 septembre 1979. Deux autres affaires (“Morales” y “Moyano”) furent annexées au procès ainsi que neuf cas de prisonniers torturés. En décembre 2009, il a été condamné à la prison à perpétuité.

Le colonel Rodolfo Campos (chef de la police provinciale), César Cejas et Hugo Britos (ex agents) ont aussi été condamnés à perpétuité. Miguel Gómez (policier) a été condamné à 16 ans de prison. Calixto Flores (policier) a quant à lui été acquitté. Ils faisaient tous parties du Département du renseignement de (D2) de la police de la ville de Córdoba.

CRIMES CONTRE L’HUMANITE COMMIS A TUCUMAN

Le Tribunal Oral Fédéral 1 (TOF1) de Córdoba a déclaré Menéndez coupable de “crimes contre l’humanité, coauteur pénalement responsable d’association illicite, violation de domicile, privation illégitime de liberté, tortures et assassinat de 22 personnes.

Au cours du procès, un témoin a remis au juge deux cahiers contenant 293 noms ; 195 d’entre eux portaient la note “DF” pour “Disposition Finale”, des gens qui devaient être tués.

Le 9 juillet 2010, Menéndez fut condamné à la prison à perpétuité pour ces crimes, commis alors qu’il était chef de la police de Tucumán.

Roberto Albornoz, ex chef du renseignement de la police de Tucumán fut également condamné à la perpétuité.

PEINE DE PRISON A PERPETUITE A CORDOBA

Le 22 décembre 2010, Menéndez a été condamné à la prison à vie par le Tribunal Oral Fédéral 1 de Córdoba pour :

– privation illégale de liberté (6 chefs d’inculpation);
– torture aggravée par la persécution politique de la victime (38 chefs d’inculpation),
– meurtre (30 chefs d’inculpation),
– torture suivie de meurtre (1 chef d’inculpation);
– lésion corporelle grave (1 chef d’inculpation)

L’AFFAIRE ROMERO NIKLISON

Le 23 mars, Menéndez a été condamné a la prison a perpétuité pour l’assassinat de cinq membres du groupe de guérilla urbaine en 1976. Menéndez a été reconnu coupable par le tribunal d’avoir mené un raid le 20 mai 1976, dans une maison à Tucuman où se réunissaient les membres d’un groupe anti-gouvernemental conduisant à la mort de cinq d’entre eux. Roberto Albornoz a également été condamné à la réclusion a perpétuité pour son rôle dans cette affaire.

Le 25 mai 2011, Menéndez a été hospitalisé après avoir été victime d’une crise cardiaque.

L’AFFAIRE ANGELELLI

Le 24 novembre 2011, Menéndez a reçu une peine privative de liberté pour l’assassinat d’Enrique Angelelli, un ancien évêque de La Rioja. Jorge Rafael Videla et Albano Harguindeguy ont également été reconnus coupables de ce crime. Angelelli était un militant social de gauche sous la dernière dictature argentine, mort dans un accident de voiture en 1976.

Le 4 juillet 2014, la Cour de La Rioja a condamné Menéndez, ainsi qu’un autre ancien officier militaire, à la prison à perpétuité pour le meurtre de l’évêque Angelelli. Au cours du procès, les preuves incluaient deux lettres de la main d’Angelelli, écrites avant sa mort. Elles ont été fournies par le Pape François au Vatican. Dans ces lettres, Menéndez dénonçait les exactions du régime militaire.

L’AFFAIRE DES PRISONNIERS POLITIQUES DE PALOMITAS

Le 5 décembre 2011, Menendez a été condamné une nouvelle fois à la réclusion a perpétuité, pour l’assassinat en juillet 1976 de onze prisonniers politiques à Palomitas, près de la ville de Salta. La même peine a été prononcée à l’égard de Joaquin Guil, et Juan Carlos Alzugaray a été condamné à vingt ans de réclusion.

L’AFFAIRE AGUIRRE

Le 15 mars 2012, Menendez devait être jugé avec Miguel Angel Moreno devant le Tribunal Fédéral de Tucuman. Toutefois, il a été dispensé de se présenter à l’audience pour des raisons de santé. Il était accusé notamment de violation de propriété, privation illégale de la liberté par contrainte et harcèlement, torture et complot aggravé à l’encontre d’Emma del Valle Aguirre.

Il est allégué que le 17 février 1977, Menendez faisait partie d’un groupe de personnes qui sont entrés dans la maison de Aguirre, ont bandé ses yeux, et l’ont enlevé. Ils l’ont ensuite emmenée dans un lieu inconnu, où elle a été torturée. Elle a finalement été libérée le 6 mars 1977. Selon les allégations du procureur, il est vraisemblable que les faits allégués ont eu lieu dans un ancien moulin situé dans la province de Tucuman.

L’AFFAIRE LA PERLA

En Décembre 2012, son procès pour les crimes commis entre 1975 et 1978 au centre de détention clandestin « La Perla » a débuté devant le Tribunal Pénal Fédéral de Cordoba. Ce procès concerne 417 victimes qui ont disparus pendant la dictature. Au court des 352 audiences, près de 600 personnes ont témoigné, parmi lesquels de nombreux survivants de la prison « La Perla ». L’Université Nationale de Cordoba a également publié six vidéos- témoignages de proches des victimes.

Pour des raisons de santé, Ménendez a été assigné à son domicile à Bajo Palermo.

Cela fut le plus grand procès de l’histoire de Cordoba, avec une durée totale de 3 ans et 8 mois, condamnant 43 personnes pour des crimes contre l’humanité, dont 28 purgeront une peine à perpétuité.

PROCES DU PLAN CONDOR

Le 5 mars 2013 a débuté le procès intitulé “Plan Condor” au cours duquel 25 accusés, dont Menéndez, seront jugés pour crimes contre l’humanité commis lors de la dictature.

L’AFFAIRE DES BEBES VOLES

Le 25 Aout 2016, Menéndez a reçu une nouvelle condamnation à perpétuité du Tribunal Oral Féderal de Cordoba pour, entre autres crimes contre l’humanité, l’appropriation du neveu de Sonia Torres (une de “Las abuelas de Plaza de Mayo”), né en captivité le 14 Juillet 1976. C’est la première fois que Menéndez a été condamné pour vol de bébé. Menéndez a toujours nié les accusations portées contre lui.

point fort

Le 23 novembre 2011, le tribunal fédéral de Mendoza a retenu la responsabilité conjointe de Menendez, Juan Agustín Oyarzabal, Eduardo Smaha et Armando Osvaldo Fernández pour la commission des actes généralisés de violence sexuelle pendant la dictature. La portée du jugement est symbolisée par la reconnaissance de la nature généralisée et systématique des actes de violence sexuelle commis contre les femmes tout au long de ce régime politique, et la qualification de ces actes de crimes contre l’humanité.

En l’espèce, le tribunal fédéral de Mendoza a jugé que « la dernière dictature argentine a instauré un système de violation systématique et généralisée des droits de l’homme par des actes de violence sexuelle ciblant principalement les femmes. »

contexte

En décembre 1986, le Parlement argentin a adopté une loi dite « del punto final », qui a fixé à 60 jours le délai de prescription des délits et crimes contre le droit international.

En mai 1987, le Parlement a approuvé la loi dite « d’obéissance due » exemptant de poursuites judiciaires la plupart des militaires de la junte. Seuls pouvaient aller devant les tribunaux des personnes ayant commandé, sous la dictature, un corps de l’armée ou une région militaire, et ceux responsables de l’une des forces de sécurité, soit une trentaine de personnes. Pour les subalternes, ne pouvaient être poursuivis que ceux accusés de vol, de viol ou d’enlèvement d’enfants. En juin 1987, la Cour suprême a soutenu la constitutionnalité de cette loi.

Par ailleurs, dès le mois de décembre 1990, les premiers décrets de grâce ont été signés.

Finalement, 1195 militaires actifs lorsque la junte était au pouvoir ont bénéficié d’amnistie: 730 au titre de la loi « del punto final », 379 de la loi sur « l’obéissance due », 49 par des amnisties prononcées par la Cour suprême de justice, et 42 par décret de grâce.

Mi-août 2003, le nouveau président argentin, Nestor Kirchner, a fait abroger les lois d’amnisties, comme il a fait entériner l’imprescriptibilité des crimes contre l’humanité.

Des poursuites deviennent à nouveau possibles en Argentine. Vingt anciens militaires sont ainsi détenus pour les crimes commis dans le cadre du plan « Condor ». Le nombre total de militaires détenus et inculpés par la justice argentine pour des violations des droits de l’homme s’élève à 120, auxquels il faudrait ajouter deux Argentins détenus en Espagne. Certaines procédures concernent des enfants enlevés à leur naissance aux prisonniers politiques, un crime que les juges n’ont jamais estimé couvert par l’amnistie.

Par ailleurs, le 14 juin 2005, la Cour suprême a déclaré inconstitutionnelles, par 7 voix contre 1, avec une abstention, la loi d’amnistie (« Ley de Punto Final »; Ley 23.492) et la loi d’obéissance due (« Ley de Obediencia debida »; Ley 23.521). La Cour a déterminé que ces lois étaient contraires à l’article 76 alinéa 22 de la constitution de 1994, qui accorde un statut constitutionnel, entre autres, au Pacte international relatif aux droits civils et politiques, à la Convention contre le génocide, à la Convention contre la torture, et à la Convention interaméricaine des droits de l’homme. La Cour a observé que, selon plusieurs décisions de la Cour américaine relative aux droits de l’homme et d’autres textes internationaux, l’Etat a une obligation d’enquêter, de traduire en justice et de punir les auteurs de violations du droit à la vie, de tortures ou de disparitions forcées. Ces obligations ne peuvent pas être limitées ni abrogées par des lois d’amnistie ou d’obéissance due, ce qui avait déjà été constaté par la Cour inter-américaine des droits de l’homme dans l’affaire Barrios Altos c. Perou.

Cette décision historique va ouvrir la porte aux poursuites nationales et internationales des militaires qui sont suspectés d’avoir participé à la torture, à la disparition forcée et/ ou au meurtre de plus de 30’000 personnes en Argentine entre 1976 et 1983.

Le 20 septembre 2006, dans le cadre d’un procès dirigé contre Miguel Etchecolatz, un tribunal de la ville de La Plata a déclaré, pour la première fois, que les violations des droits de l’homme commis durant la dictature militaire (1976-1983) pouvaient être qualifiées de génocide. Un tel constat était exigé depuis longtemps par nombre d’organisations de défense des droits de l’homme. Etchecolatz, un ancien officier de police, a été condamné à la prison à vie pour torture, meurtre et enlèvement d’opposants au régime.

Les juges ont souligné qu’il s’agissait d’un génocide organisé par l’Etat. Cette appréciation juridique pourrait avoir une grande signification dans le cadre d’autres procédures engagées contre d’anciens policiers ou militaires.

Luciano Benjamín Menendez

21.04.2016 ( Last modified: 22.05.2018 )
Trial Watch would like to remind its users that any person charged by national or international authorities is presumed innocent until proven guilty.

facts

Luciano Menéndez was born in 1927 in the Buenos Aires suburb of San Martin. He enrolled in the Colegio Nacional de Guerra and was appointed Chief of the 5th Mountain Infantry Brigade during the Independencia Operation against groups of the left wing.

In 1975 he was appointed Chief of the 3rd Army Corps. As the military commander of ten Argentine provinces, he ordered the arrests of hundreds of people (syndicalists, students, professors, journalists and anyone else suspected of sympathizing with the left wing). His disagreement with the military leadership led him to start an insurrection in 1979, but it was crushed. He was imprisoned for 90 days, dismissed from his post and forced into retirement by the General Viola.

Menéndez died on 27 February 2018 at the age of 90 in a hospital in Cordoba, Argentina.

legal procedure

In 1985 Menendez was accused of 800 crimes. In 1988 he was indicted with 47 homicides, 76 cases of torture and 4 kidnappings of children. However, he was released as a result of the “Loi du Point Final” and absolved by the President Carlos Menem. In 2006 he was accused of ordering, supervising and participation to tortures and forced disappearance in the La Perla camp (where 2’200 people were executed).

THE “PARTIDO REVOLUCIONARIO DE LOS TRABAJADORES” ‘S VICTIMS

The “Loi du point final” was repealed in 2006. As a result, Menendez was brought before justice and accused of illegal arrest, torture and homicide of Hilda Flora Palacios, Humberto Horacio Brandalisis, Carlos Enrique Lajas et Raul Osvaldo Cardozo, all members of the “Partido Revolucionario de los Trabajadores” (PRT).

On 24 July 2008, he was sentenced to life imprisonment, alongside Antonio Domingo Bussi. His appeal was dismissed.

ENFORCED DISAPPEARANCE OF GUILLERMO VARGAS AIGNASSE

On 28 August 2008, Menendez was found guilty of the enforced disappearance of politician Guillermo Vargas Aignasse, and condemned to a life sentence.

RICARDO FERMIN ALBAREDA CASE

Menendez was accused of the kidnapping, torture and homicide of deputy police superintendent Ricardo Fermin Albareda on 25 September 1979. Menendez ordered Fermin’s torture and abandonment until he bled to death. Two other cases (known as “Morales” and “Moyano”) were joined with the trial, as were nine other cases of torture of prisoners. In his defence, Menendez declared that he had to fight “the communist threat”.

In December 2009, he was sentenced to life imprisonment.

Colonel Rodolfo Campos (chief of the provincial police), César Cejas and Hugo Britos (ex-agents) were condemned to life imprisonment, too. Miguel Gomez was sentenced to 16 years. Calixto Flores (policeman) was acquitted. They were all members of the “Information Department of (D2) the Cordoba police”.

CRIMES AGAINT HUMANITY CASE IN TUCUMAN

The Cordoba “Tribunal Oral Fédéral (TOF1)” found Menendez guilty of committing crimes against humanity, being a co-author of criminal association (conspiracy), trespassing, illegal arrest, torture and murder of 22 people.

In his defence, he declared that the continual forced disappearances took place in a war context that started “because we had to take action against the international communist conquest”. A witness brought before the Court two notebooks containing 293 names: 195 of them were followed by the note “FD” for “Final Disposition”, for people that were to be executed.

On 9 July 2010, Menéndez was sentenced to life imprisonment for the crimes that occurred while he was the Chief of the police in Tucuman.

Roberto Albornoz, former head of intelligence of the Tucuman’s police was also sentenced to life imprisonment.

LIFE SENTENCE IN CORDOBA

On 22 December 2010, Menendez was sentenced to life imprisonment by the Cordoba “Tribunal Oral Fédéral” for: illegal arrest (6 charges); aggravated torture by the political persecution of the victim (38 charges); homicide (30 charges); torture followed by homicide (1 charge); and grievous bodily harm (1 charge).

“ROMERO NIKLISON” CASE

On 23 March 2011, Menendez received another life sentence for the murder of five urban guerrilla group members in 1976 (“Romero Niklison” case). A panel of judges found him guilty of conducting a violent police raid on a home in Tucuman province against members of an anti-government group on 20 May 1976. Roberto Albornoz also received a life sentence for this crime.

On 25 May 2011, Menendez suffered a cardiac arrest and was hospitalised.

ANGELELLI CASE

On 24 November 2011, Menendez received a custodial sentence for the murder of Bishop Enrique Angelelli, a former bishop from La Rioja. Jorge Rafael Videla and Albano Harguindeguy were also found guilty. Angelelli was a leftist social activist during Argentine’s last dictatorship, who died in 1976 in a car accident.

On 4 July 2014, before the Court in La Rioja, Menendez, alongside another former military officer, was convicted to life imprisonment for the death of Bishop Angelelli. During the trial, the evidence included two letters, written by Angelelli before his death. They were provided by Pope Francis in the Vatican. In the letters, Menendez had denounced the military regime abuses.

THE PALOMITAS POLITICAL PRISONERS CASE

On 5 December 2011, Menendez received a new life sentence for the murder of eleven political prisoners in Palomitas, near the city of Salta in July 1976. Joaquín Guil received the same sentence, and Juan Carlos Alzugaray was sentenced to 20 years imprisonment.

THE AGUIRRE CASE

On 15 March 2012, Menendez was scheduled to face trial together with Miguel Angel Moreno before the Federal Court of Tucuman. However, he was dispensed from attending trial due to health reasons. This hearing related to charges of unauthorised entry, unlawful deprivation of freedom by coercion and harassment, torture and aggravated conspiracy against the victim Emma del Valle Aguirre.

On 17 February 1977, Menendez was allegedly part of a group of people who entered the home of Aguirre in disguise before proceeding to blindfolding and kidnapping her. The group took her to an unknown location, where she was locked in a room, blindfolded, tied up, and tortured. She was finally released on 6 March 1977. According to the prosecution, it is likely that the kidnapping and torture took place in Ex Ingenio Nueva Baviera, a former mill located in Famaillá in Tucumán province.

LA PERLA CASE

In December 2012, a new trial in relation to crimes committed at the “La Perla” detention centre from 1975 to 1978 started before the Federal Criminal Court of Cordoba. This process concerns 417 victims who disappeared during the last dictatorship. During the 352 court hearings, which took place in this process, almost 600 witnesses testified, among them many survivors of “La Perla” detention centre. Among the witnesses, also the National University of Cordoba issued six videos with witnesses of relatives of the victims.

Due to health reasons, Menendez was allowed to serve his sentence under house arrest at his home in Bajo Palermo.

This was the biggest trial in the history of Cordoba, and lasted a total of 3 years and 8 months, condemning 43 people for crimes against humanity, of which 28 will serve a life sentence.

“PLAN CONDOR” CASE

On 5 March 2013, the “Plan Condor” trial started in which 25 accused, included Menéndez, were to be tried for crimes against humanity committed during the last dictatorship.

BABY THEFT TRIAL

On 25 August 2016, Menendez received an new life sentence by the Cordoba “Tribunal Oral Fédéral” for, among other crimes against humanity, appropriation of Sonia Torres’ nephew (one of the “Las abuelas de Plaza de Mayo”), who was born in captivity on 14 June 1976. His grandmother has been looking for him for the last 40 years. This was the first time Menendez was sentenced for baby theft.

Menendez denied the charges brought against him in all his trials.

Highlights

On 23 November 2011, the Federal Court of Mendoza found Menendez jointly responsible with Juan Agustín Oyarzabal, Eduardo Smaha and Armando Osvaldo Fernández, for the widespread acts of sexual violence committed during the dictatorship. This judgment against Mendoza is of particular significance as it recognised the prevalence of sexual violence throughout the dictatorship, and qualified these acts as crimes against humanity.

In this case, the Federal Court of Mendoza ruled that “the last dictatorship in Argentina established a systematic and widespread violation of human rights targeted mainly at women, through acts of gender violence and sexual violence.”

context

In December 1986, the Argentinean Parliament adopted a law called “final point,” which set a statute of limitation of 60 days for offences against international law committed in Argentina.

In May 1987, Parliament approved a second amnesty law called “due obedience,” which exempted from trial all military subordinates who had obeyed orders. This left only about thirty high-ranked military officers to face prosecution. The only crimes not covered by this law – and for which subordinates could still be tried – was theft, rape and the kidnapping of children. The Supreme Court upheld the constitutionality of this law in June 1987.

By December 1990 the first amnesty decrees were signed.

In all, 1195 members of the military who had participated in the junta received amnesty: 730 because of the “final point” law, 379 with the “due obedience” law, 49 declared by the Supreme Court and 42 by amnesty decrees.

In mid-August 2003, the new Argentinean president, Nestor Kirchner, had the amnesty laws repealed and the absence of statutes of limitation for crimes against humanity recognized.

Prosecutions of those involved in the junta once again became possible in Argentina.

Twenty former military personnel are being held in Argentina for crimes committed within the framework of the “Condor” plan. The total number of soldiers in detention and charged under Argentinean law for human rights violations amounts to 120 – to which should be added two Argentineans held in Spain. Some of these proceedings concern cases where children were forcibly taken away at birth from their mothers who had been imprisoned for political reasons. In the opinion of the judges, the amnesty law never covered this crime. (Source: Le Monde, January 5, 2005).

On 14 June 2005, the Argentinean Supreme Court declared the Amnesty Law unconstitutional, by 7 votes in favour, 1 against and 1 abstention,– “Ley de Punto Final”; Ley 23.492- and the Due Obedience Law – “Ley de Obediencia debida”; Ley 23.521- sanctioned by President Alfonsin in 1987. The Court maintained that these laws violated article 75, paragraph 22 of the 1994 Argentinean Constitution, which gives constitutional status to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, to the Genocide Convention, to the Torture Convention and to the Inter-American Convention, among others. According to the Court, following diverse decisions by the Inter-American Court and by other international bodies, the State has an obligation to investigate, prosecute and punish those who have committed violations of the right to life, to humane treatment or those who have engaged in disappearances, an obligation which cannot be limited or abolished by the enactment of an Amnesty or Due Obedience Laws as ruled by the Inter-American Court in the case of Barrios Altos v. Peru.

This historical decision allows the domestic or international investigation, prosecution and punishment of members of the military suspected to have taken part in the torture, disappearance and/or killings of more than 30,000 persons in Argentina between 1976 and 1983.

On 20 September 2006, during the course of the trial of Miguel Etchecolatz, the court for the town of La Plata used the term “genocide” for the crimes committed by the military dictatorship (1976-1983). It was the first time these crimes were qualified as genocide by a court, just like human rights organisations had long argued they should be. This legal qualification is now contained in the judgment against former police officer Etchecolatz, who was sentenced to life imprisonment for torture, murder and abduction of opponents of the regime.

The court emphasised that the crimes were committed in the context of a genocide campaign organised by the state. For future procedures against former members of the police force and the military, this view could be of crucial importance.