fbpx

Martina Johnson

08.05.2016 ( Modifié le : 13.07.2020 )
TRIAL International reminds its visitors that any person charged by national or international authorities is presumed innocent until proven guilty.

faits

Martina Johnson est née en 1970, elle est de nationalité Libérienne. Elle est commandante du groupe rebelle Front national patriotique du Libéria (FNPL) pendant la première guerre civile du Libéria qui dure de 1986 à 1996.

Ce groupe rebelle, soutien de Charles Taylor, a notamment cherché à renverser le président Samuel K. Doe et à contrôler le pays. Le 6 septembre 1990 ce dernier est capturé puis torturé. Il décède le 9 septembre 1990.

Le FNPL est par ailleurs soupçonné d’avoir commis, tout au long de la guerre civile, de nombreux crimes – contre des civils et des opposants – parmi lesquels figureraient des violences sexuelles, des meurtres ainsi que l’enrôlement d’enfants soldats.

Johnson, en tant que membre du FNPL, est personnellement suspectée d’avoir participé et/ou d’avoir été impliquée dans la réalisation de plusieurs crimes, inclus elle est soupçonnée d’avoir participé à l’opération Octopus, voire même de l’avoir organisée. L’opération Octopus est le nom de l’assaut donné sur Monrovia au cours du mois d’octobre 1992. Cet assaut avait pour objectif de porter Charles Taylor à la tête du pays.

C’est dans le contexte de l’opération Octopus que cinq nonnes américaines ont été assassinées. Membres des « Adorers of the Blood of Christ » – ordre catholique basé à Saint Louis, aux Etats-Unis – elles étaient présentes au Libéria en tant que missionnaires, mais s’occupaient également de travail humanitaire. Johnson est soupçonnée d’être impliquée dans la mort de ces dernières.

L’opération Octopus sera repoussée par l’ECOMOG (brigade de surveillance de cessez-le-feu de la Communauté économique des Etats de l’Afrique de l’Ouest, ou CEDEAO), et des groupes opposés à Charles Taylor, parmi lesquels l’ULIMO (United Liberation Movement of Liberia for Democracy) qui regroupe d’anciens partisans de Samuel K. Doe. Cette défaite, l’embargo sur les armes imposé par une résolution du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies ainsi que des défaites ultérieures obligent le FNPL à changer de stratégie.

Un accord de paix, qui prévoit la tenue d’élections législatives, est négocié en juillet 1993. Entre 1994 et 1995 les combats entre les différents groupes ont continué. L’accord d’Abuja I conclu le 20 août 1995 a rapidement été violé. En 1996 un nouvel accord de paix a été négocié dans le cadre de la CEDEAO (l’accord d’Abuja II). Il a mis fin à la première guerre civile. Charles Taylor, qui était à la tête du mouvement de rébellion, a accèdé officiellement à la tête du pays en 1997 suite à des élections.

Il a alors confié à Mme Johnson la sécurité de l’aéroport internationale de Monrovia, capitale du pays. Elle est restée en poste pendant six ans, jusqu’à qu’une nouvelle guerre civile contraigne Charles Taylor à fuir à l’étranger. En 2009, le nom de Mme Johnson est réapparu dans une liste établie par la Commission vérité et réconciliation du Libéria. Sur cette liste figuraient les noms des plus grands criminels de la première guerre civile du Libéria. Malgré cela Johnson s’est installée en Belgique, où elle résidait à Gand avec son mari, un Belge d’origine libérienne.

Procédure

En 2012 un avocat belge a déposé une plainte devant la justice belge au nom de trois victimes libériennes résidant au Libéria.

Martina Johnson a été arrêtée le 17 septembre 2014 par la police belge à Gand. Elle est suspectée d’avoir participé et même d’avoir chapeauté au cours de l’année 1992 à l’Opération Octopus – assaut lancé sur la capitale, Monrovia – au cours de laquelle des crimes de guerre et des crimes contre l’humanité auraient été commis.

Mme Johnson est assignée à résidence avec la contrainte du port d’un bracelet électronique dans l’attente de la fixation d’une audience.

Jusqu’à présent Martina Johnson nie toutes les accusations qui pèsent contre elle.

 

point fort

C’est la première mise en accusation pour des faits qui ont été commis pendant la guerre civile qu’a connue le Libéria de 1989 à 1996.

Autre particularité : Martina Johnson est l’une des seules femmes membre de la garde rapprochée de Charles Taylor.

 

©2020 trialinternational.org | Tous droits réservés | Avertissement | Statuts | Designed and Produced by ACW

Martina Johnson

08.05.2016 ( Last modified: 10.01.2018 )
Trial Watch would like to remind its users that any person charged by national or international authorities is presumed innocent until proven guilty.

facts

Martina Johnson was born in 1970 and is Liberian. Johnson was the commander of The National Patriotic Front of Liberia (NPFL) rebel group during Liberia’s first civil war, which took place from 1986 to 1996.

This rebel group, which was led by Charles Taylor, was attempting to overthrow then President Samuel K. Doe in order to take control of the country. On 6 September 1990, President Doe was captured and tortured; he died on 9 September 1990.

The NPFL is accused of having committed many crimes throughout the duration of the civil war. These crimes were committed against civilians and the opposition, and included sexual violence and murders, as well as the enlistment of child soldiers.

As a member of the NPFL, Johnson is suspected of having participated in and/or have been involved in many different crimes, including being suspected of participating in, or even having organised, “Operation Octopus”. Octopus was the name given to the attack on the capital city of Monrovia carried out during October 1992 with the aim of getting Charles Taylor into power.

Five American nuns were killed during Operation Octopus. These nuns were members of the “Adorers of the Blood of Christ” order – a Catholic order based in St Louis in the USA – who were acting as missionaries in Liberia but were also carrying out humanitarian work. Johnson is suspected of being involved in their deaths.

Operation Octopus was stopped by the ECOMOG (The Economic Community of West African States Monitoring Group) and groups that opposed Charles Taylor, including the ULIMO (United Liberation Movement of Liberia for Democracy), which is made up of supporters of Samuel K. Doe. This defeat, the arms embargo imposed by the United Nations Security Council, as well as further defeats meant that the NPFL had to change strategy.

In July 1993 a peace agreement, which made provisions for general elections, was signed. However, between 1994 and 1995, fighting between the different groups continued. The Abuja Agreement signed on 20 August 1995 was soon violated. In 1996 a new Abuja agreement was signed in the framework of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS). This put an end to the first civil war. Charles Taylor, who was the leader of the rebellion movement was then finally elected and came to power in 1997.

Taylor put Johnson in charge of the security of the international airport of Monrovia, the capital of the country. She held this position for six years, until the beginning of the second civil war, which forced Taylor to flee the country. Johnson wasn’t heard of again until 2009, when her name appeared in a list published by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Liberia. This list consisted of the names of the most prolific criminals from the first civil war in Liberia. Despite this, Johnson was not worried: she emigrated and is now living in Ghent in Belgium with her husband, a Belgian with Liberian roots

 

legal procedure

In 2012, a Belgian lawyer presented a case to the Belgian court on behalf of three Liberian victims, who still live in Liberia.

For this reason, Belgian police arrested Martina Johnson in Ghent on 17 September 2014.

She is suspected of having participating in and even having lead Operation Octopus (an attack on the capital city, Monrovia) over the course of 1992, which would mean she was involved in many crimes against humanity committed during this time.

Johnson was first placed in pre-trial detention but was then put under house arrest and has to wear an electronic bracelet whilst awaiting her court date.

To this day, Johnson still denies these allegations.

spotlight

This is the first time anyone has been indicted for crimes committed during the Liberian civil war.

Martina Johnson was one of Charles Taylor’s very few female personal guards.

Fact Sheet
Name: Martina Johnson
Nationality: Liberia
Context: Liberia
Charges: Crimes against humanity, Deprivation of life, Infringment of physical integrity, War crimes, Protection of civilians, Torture
Status: Indicted
Judgement Place: Belgium
Particulars: Arrested on 17 September 2014 in Ghent, Belgium