Nuon Chea

04.05.2016 ( Modifié le : 24.04.2018 )
Trial Watch rappelle que jusqu'à ce qu'une éventuelle condamnation soit entrée en force, toute personne accusée ou poursuivie par une juridiction nationale ou internationale est présumée innocente.

faits

Nuon Chea, connu aussi sous le nom de «Frère numéro deux», est né le 7 juillet 1926 dans le village de Voat Kor, au Cambodge. En 1960, Chea a été nommé Secrétaire Adjoint du Parti Communiste du Kampuchea (CPK) et membre du Comité Permanent du PCK. Dans le rôle de Secrétaire Adjoint, Chea était le bras droit du leader du PCK, Pol Pot.

Entre 1970 et 1975, Nuon Chea a servi comme Vice-Président du Haut Commandement Militaire des Forces Armées Populaires de Libération Nationale du Kampuchéa (FAPLNK) ainsi que chef de la direction politique de l’armée. Le 9 octobre 1975, il a été désigné comme membre du Comité Permanent du PCK,, chargé du travail, du bien-être social, de la culture, de la propagande et de l’éducation formelle

Entre 1976 et 1979, Chea a été Président de l’Assemblée de la République Démocratique du Kampuchea (DRK) et Premier Ministre du DRK pour une courte période du 25 septembre au 15 octobre 1976.

Du 17 avril 1975 à au moins 6 janvier 1979, des meurtres et des épisodes de violence extrême ont été commis sur tout le territoire cambodgien contre des civils, en particulier contre les membres des minorités cham et vietnamiennes, et des soldats ennemis de la République Khmère vaincue. Notamment, une partie importante de la population cambodgienne a été déplacée de force des zones urbaines vers les zones rurales et obligée de travailler dans des sites agricoles. Au cours de cette période, près de deux millions de Cambodgiens ont été tués ou sont morts de maladies, de famine, d’exécution ou d’épuisement.

procédure légale

Le 19 septembre 2007, Chea a été placé en détention provisoire et inculpé par le Bureau des co-juges d’Instruction (BCJI) des Chambres Extraordinaires au sein des Tribunaux Cambodgiens (CETC) pour:

– crimes contre l’humanité de meurtre, de déportation, d’extermination, d’asservissement, d’emprisonnement, de persécution et d’autres actes inhumains;

– crimes de guerre d’homicide intentionnel, de torture ou de traitement inhumain, causant intentionnellement de grandes souffrances ou des atteintes graves au corps ou à la santé, privant volontairement un prisonnier de guerre ou civil des droits de procès équitable et régulier, d’expulsion illégale ou d’internement illégal de civils; et

– génocide.

Tous les crimes auraient été commis auraient eu lieu entre le 17 avril 1975 et le 6 janvier 1979 sur le territoire de la DRK.

Le 15 septembre 2010, il a été formellement inculpé par le BCJI.

Le 22 septembre 2011, la Chambre de première instance des CETC a décidé de diviser les poursuites en deux affaires distinctes, afin de réduire la durée des procès.

AFFAIRE No. 2/001 :

Le premier sous-procès concernait le déplacement forcé de population cambodgienne qui aurait eu lieu entre 1975 et 1978 et les crimes de guerre et crimes contre l’humanité commis contre les soldats de la République Khmère au lendemain de la prise du PCK en 1975.

Le 23 novembre 2011, Chea a plaidé non coupable de toutes les accusations portées contre lui.

Le 7 août 2014, la Chambre de première instance des CETC a déclaré Chea coupable d’avoir participé à l’entreprise criminelle commune visant à commettre des crimes contre l’humanitéde meurtre, de persécution pour des motifs politiques et d’autres actes inhumains. Il a aussi été déclaré coupable d’avoir organisé, ordonné, encouragé et été complice de crime d’extermination ou d’autres actes inhumains et de persécution politique. De plus, seul Chea a été déclaré coupable en tant que supérieur pour tous les crimes commis. Il a été condamné à la réclusion à perpétuité.

Le 23 novembre 2016, cette condamnation a été confirmé par la Chambre de la Cour Suprême des CETC.

AFFAIRE No. 002/02 :

Le 17 octobre 2014, le deuxième sous-procès a commencé concernant les accusations restantes:

– génocide en tuant des membres des groupes vietnamiens et cham;

– crimes contre l’humanité de meurtre, de déportation, d’extermination, d’asservissement, d’emprisonnement, de persécution et d’autres actes inhumains commis dans des chantiers et divers centres de sécurité dans tout le Cambodge;

– crimes de guerre d’homicide intentionnel et la privation volontaire d’un prisonnier de guerre ou d’un civil des droits d’un procès régulier et équitable commis dans des centres de sécurité à travers le Cambodge.

Le 23 juin 2017, les déclarations finales du défendeur ont conclu la procédure et la Chambre de première instance s’est retirée pour délibération.

Au debut de l’année 2018, Chea a été jugé capable d’assister au rendu de son jugement. Son jugement devrait être rendu en juin 2018.

contexte

Chambres extraordinaires au sein des tribunaux cambodgiens (CETC) :

Le 13 mai 2003, l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies a adopté une résolution approuvant une proposition d’accord entre l’ONU et le Cambodge sur la poursuite des principaux responsables des crimes commis entre 1975 et 1979 (A/RES/57/228 B). L’accord prévoit la création des Chambres extraordinaires au sein des tribunaux cambodgiens (CETC), intégrées au système judiciaire existant, auxquelles prendraient part des juges internationaux.

Le 4 octobre 2004, l’Assemblée nationale cambodgienne a ratifié ce traité. Le 27 octobre, la loi d’application a été promulguée par le Roi. Les CETC seront compétents pour juger des crimes de génocide, des crimes contre l’humanité, des crimes de guerre et des violations de la convention de La Haye sur le patrimoine culturel.

Le 8 mai 2006, 17 juges cambodgiens et 12 juges internationaux ont été désignés par un décret royal. Le 7 juillet 2006, les CETC ont annoncé l’établissement d’une section d’appui à la défense composé d’avocats étrangers pour assurer une défense adéquate aux accusés.

Les co-procureurs des CETC ont annoncé le 18 juillet 2007 avoir transmis aux Chambres les premiers dossiers de cinq suspects, susceptibles d’être jugés notamment pour génocide, crimes de guerre, crimes contre l’humanité, de violations graves des Conventions de Genève, d’homicide, de torture et de persécutions religieuses. Les juges des CETC qui en charge d’examiner les dossiers -un Cambodgien et un étranger- décideront lesquels parmi les suspects pourront être jugés.

Le 31 juillet 2007, Guek Eav Kaing, “Duch”, est le premier suspect à être arrêté et détenu par les CETC et le 26 juillet 2010, la chambre de première instance le reconnait coupable de crimes contre l’humanité et de violations graves des Conventions de Genève de 1949 et l’a condamné a 35 ans de prison. Le 16 septembre 2010, les CETC ont inculpé Thirith Ieng, Sary Ieng, Khieu Samphan et Nuon Chea des accusations de génocide, crimes de guerre, crimes contre l’humanité et meurtre.

Nuon Chea

04.05.2016 ( Last modified: 25.08.2017 )
Trial Watch would like to remind its users that any person charged by national or international authorities is presumed innocent until proven guilty.

Facts

Nuon Chea, also known as ‘Brother Number Two’, was born on 7 July 1926 in Voat Kor village, Cambodia.

In 1960, Chea was appointed Deputy Secretary of the Kampuchea Communist Party (CPK) and member of the CPK’s Standing Committee. In the role of Deputy Secretary, Chea was CPK’s second in command, as indicated by his nickname ‘Brother Number Two’, and right-hand man of CPK’s leader Pol Pot.
Between 1970 and 1975, Chea served as Vice-President of the High Military Commandment of the People’s Armed Forced for the National Liberation of Kampuchea, and head of the political leadership of the army.

On 9 October 1975, he was designated as member of the CPK’s Permanent Committee, in charge of labour, social welfare, culture, propaganda and formal education.
Between 1976 and 1979, Chea served as President of the Assembly of the Democratic Republic of Kampuchea (DRK), and as DRK’s Prime Minister for a short stint between 25 September and 15 October 1976.

From 17 April 1975 to at least 6 January 1979, several killings and episodes of extreme violence were committed throughout the territory of Cambodia against civilians, including members of the Cham and Vietnamese minorities, and enemy soldiers of the defeated Khmer Republic. Notably, a significant portion of the whole Cambodian population was forcibly moved from urban to rural areas and obliged to work in agricultural sites. During this period, nearly two million Cambodians were killed or died from diseases, starvation, execution, or exhaustion from overwork.

Legal Procedure

On 19 November 2007, Chea was placed under provisional detention and charged by the Office of the Co-Investigative Judges (OCIJ) of the Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia (ECCC) for:

  • crimes against humanity of murder, deportation, extermination, enslavement, imprisonment, persecution and other inhumane acts;
  • war crimes of willful killing, torture or inhumane treatment, willfully causing great suffering or serious injury to body or health, willfully depriving a prisoner of war or civilian the rights of fair and regular trial, unlawful deportation or unlawful confinement of civilians; and
  • genocide.

All the crimes were allegedly committed between 17 April 1975 and 6 January 1979 on the territory of the DRK.

On 15 September 2010, he was formally indicted by the OCIJ.

On 22 September 2011, the ECCC’s Trial Chamber decided to severe the case in two parts to expedite the trial.

 

CASE 002/01

The first sub-trial concerned the forced displacement of the Cambodian population allegedly committed between 1975 and 1978, and war crimes and crimes against humanity allegedly committed against soldiers of the Khmer Republic in the immediate aftermath of the CPK takeover in 1975.

On 23 November 2011, Chea pleaded not-guilty to all the charges against him.

On 7 August 2014, the ECCC’s Trial Chamber found him guilty of participating in a joint criminal enterprise to commit the crimes against humanity of murder, political persecution and other inhumane acts. He was also found guilty of having organised, ordered, encouraged and taken part in extermination or other inhumane acts and political persecution. He was sentenced to life imprisonment.

On 23 November 2016, the verdict was substantially confirmed by the ECCC’s Supreme Court Chamber.

 

CASE 002/02

On 17 October 2014, the second sub-trial commenced focusing on the remaining charges of:

  • genocide by killing members of the groups of Vietnamese and Cham;
  • crimes against humanity of murder, deportation, extermination, enslavement, imprisonment, persecution and other inhumane acts committed in worksites and various security centres throughout Cambodia;
  • war crimes of wilful killing, and wilfully depriving a prisoner of war or a civilian the rights of fair regular trial committed in security centres throughout Cambodia.

On 23 June 2017, the defendant’s closing statements concluded the proceedings and the Trial Chamber withdrew for deliberation.

 

context

Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia (ECCC):

On 13 May 2003, the United Nations General Assembly adopted a resolution approving a proposed agreement reached between the UN and Cambodia concerning the prosecution of those holding major responsibility for the crimes committed between 1975 and 1979 (A/RES/57/228/B). The agreement provided for the setting up of Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia (ECCC), integrated into the existing judicial system, and in which International judges would also preside. The court would be funded by voluntary contributions.

On 4 October 2004, the Cambodian Nation Assembly ratified this treaty. On 27 October 2004, the treaty was proclaimed into law by the King. The ECCC has jurisdiction with respect to crimes of genocide, crimes against humanity, war crimes and the violations of the Hague Convention for the Protection of Cultural Property.

In 8 May 2006, 17 Cambodian and 12 international judges to the ECCC were appointed by royal decree. And in 7 July 2006 the ECCC announced the establishment of a defenders council staffs by foreign lawyers to ensure adequate defence.

On 18 July 2007, the Co-prosecutors of the ECCC announced that they had transferred to the ECCC judges the files of five suspects, expected to be tried notably for genocide, war crimes, crimes against humanity, grave breaches of the Geneva Conventions, homicide, torture and religious persecution. The investigating judges (a foreign and a Cambodian judge) were then to examine the cases and decide whether and which of the suspects would be tried by the ECCC.

On 31 July 2007, Guek Eav Kaing, “Duch” became the first suspect to be arrested and detained by the ECCC and on 26 July 2010, the Trial Chamber found him guilty of crimes against humanity and grave breaches of the Geneva Conventions of 1949, sentencing him to 35 years of imprisonment. On 16 September 2010 the ECCC indicted Thirith Ieng, Sary Ieng, Khieu Samphan and Nuon Chea on charges of genocide, war crimes, crimes against humanity and murder.

Fact Sheet
Name: Nuon Chea
Nationality: Cambodia
Context: Cambodia
Charges: genocide, war crimes, crimes against humanity
Status: on trial
Judgement Place: Cambodia
Particulars: case 002/01: arrested on 19 November 2007; indicted by the Office of the Co-Investigating Judges of the Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia (ECCC) on 15 September 2010; convicted and sentenced by the ECCC’s Trial Chamber on 7 August 2014; conviction and sentence upheld by the ECCC’s Appeal Chamber on 23 November 2016. Case 002/02: trial commenced on 17 October 2014; trial concluded on 23 June 2017.