Pauline Nyiramasuhuko

07.05.2016 ( Modifié le : 22.07.2016 )
Trial Watch rappelle que jusqu'à ce qu'une éventuelle condamnation soit entrée en force, toute personne accusée ou poursuivie par une juridiction nationale ou internationale est présumée innocente.

faits

Pauline Nyiramasuhuko est née en 1946 dans la commune de Ndora, préfecture de Butare, au Rwanda. Fille de paysans, elle est l’exemple d’une réussite locale.

Au collège, elle devient amie avec Agathe Kanziga, la future épouse du président hutu Juvénal Habyarimana. Après ses études, elle quitte Butare pour la capitale Kigali où elle rejoint le ministère des affaires sociales. A 22 ans elle devient inspectrice nationale au ministère. En 1968, elle épouse Maurice Ntahobali, qui deviendra président de l’Assemblée nationale rwandaise, puis ministre de l’éducation supérieure et enfin recteur de l’université nationale de Butare. Nyiramasuhuko s’inscrit ensuite en droit.

En 1992, alors qu’elle fait déjà partie des leaders du Mouvement Républicain National pour la Démocratie et le Développement (MRND, le parti présidentiel), elle est nommée ministre de la Famille et du Progrès des femmes. Elle occupe ce poste jusqu’en juillet 1994, au moment où elle fuit le Rwanda. En cette qualité, elle exerce une autorité et un contrôle sur l’ensemble des institutions et du personnel de son ministère. De plus, elle assiste au conseil des ministres où elle est informée de la situation sociopolitique du pays et de la politique gouvernementale. Elle participe également à l’élaboration de la politique adoptée et mise en œuvre par le gouvernement intérimaire.

De fin 1990 à juillet 1994, Nyiramasuhuko aurait adhéré et participé à l’élaboration d’un plan visant à l’extermination des Tutsis. Ce plan comportait, entre autres, le recours à la haine et à la violence ethnique, l’entraînement de miliciens et la distribution d’armes à ceux-ci, ainsi que la rédaction de listes de personnes à éliminer. Afin d’accomplir ce plan, Nyiramasuhuko aurait planifié, ordonné et participé aux massacres.

D’avril à juillet 1994, Nyiramasuhuko aurait publiquement incité la population à exterminer la population tutsie. Entre le 9 avril et le 14 juillet 1994, lors de différentes réunions du conseil des ministres, plusieurs ministres, dont Nyiramasuhuko, auraient demandé des armes pour les distribuer dans leur préfecture d’origine afin de commettre des massacres. Lors de ces réunions, le gouvernement intérimaire aurait adopté des directives et donné des instructions aux préfets et aux bourgmestres visant à inciter, encourager et aider à commettre des massacres. Pour assurer l’exécution de ces directives, le gouvernement intérimaire aurait désigné pour chaque préfecture un ministre responsable de la soi-disant «pacification». Nyiramasuhuko aurait été nommée responsable pour la préfecture de Butare.

Peu après l’arrivée de Nyiramasuhuko à Butare, des voitures munies de haut-parleurs auraient parcouru les routes autour de Butare, annonçant que la Croix-Rouge s’était installée dans un stade non loin de là afin de fournir de la nourriture et un abris à la population. Le 25 avril, des milliers de Tutsis s’y seraient rendus. Il s’agissait d’un piège. Au lieu de trouver nourriture et abri, les réfugiés auraient été encerclés par les Interahamwe (milices extrémistes hutues). Nyiramasuhuko aurait supervisé l’attaque et encouragé les Interahamwe. Elle leur aurait également ordonné de violer les femmes avant de les tuer. À la fin du massacre, Nyiramasuhuko se serait rendue dans un enclos où un groupe d’Interahamwe gardait 70 femmes et filles tutsies. Selon le Procureur du Tribunal Pénal International pour le Rwanda (TPIR), elle aurait ordonné aux Interahamwe de violer les femmes avant de les brûler en les aspergeant d’essence.

Le préfet de Butare, seul préfet d’origine tutsie dans le pays, s’était ouvertement opposé aux massacres dans sa préfecture. Pour cette raison, des milliers de Tutsis avaient cherché refuge à Butare dès le début des massacres. Consciente de la situation particulière qui régnait à Butare, Nyiramasuhuko aurait renvoyé le préfet et aurait incité la population à participer aux massacres. Par la suite, le préfet aurait été arrêté et tué. Le 20 avril 1994, Nyiramasuhuko aurait demandé au nouveau préfet, Sylvain Nsabimana, de lui fournir une assistance militaire pour procéder aux massacres dans la commune de Ngoma.

Entre avril et juillet 1994, un barrage routier aurait été érigé à proximité du domicile Nyiramasuhuko. Cette dernière aurait gardé le barrage avec son fils Arsène Shalom Ntahobali. Durant toute cette période, le barrage aurait été utilisé, avec l’aide de militaires, pour identifier, enlever et tuer des Tutsis.

Entre le 19 avril et la fin du mois de juin 1994, Nyiramasuhuko et son fils, accompagnés d’Interahamwe et de militaires, se seraient rendus à plusieurs reprises au bureau de la préfecture pour enlever des Tutsis. Ceux qui résistaient auraient été attaqués et parfois tués sur le champ. Quant aux autres, ils auraient été amenés à divers endroits de la préfecture, et notamment dans la forêt avoisinante de l’École Évangéliste du Rwanda, pour y être exécutés. Au moment de leur enlèvement, les victimes auraient été obligés par Nyiramasuhuko et son fils de se dévêtir complètement avant d’être forcées de monter dans des véhicules. Nyiramasuhuko auraient également sélectionné des femmes tutsies pour être violées.

En juillet 1994, face à l’avancée des troupes du FPR (Front patriotique rwandais, mouvement d’opposition composé essentiellement de réfugiés tutsis et dirigé par Paul Kagame), Nyiramasuhuko fuit le Rwanda en direction de la République démocratique du Congo (RDC). Après s’être cachée dans un camp de réfugiés en RDC, elle finit par se rendre au Kenya, où elle a vécu comme fugitive pendant presque trois ans. Elle est arrêtée à Nairobi le 18 juillet 1997.

procédure légale

Nyiramasuhuko a été arrêtée, à la requête du procureur du TPIR (Tribunal pénal international pour le Rwanda (TPIR), le 18 juillet 1997 à Nairobi, au Kenya. Le même jour, elle a été transférée au quartier pénitentiaire des Nations Unies à Arusha, en Tanzanie.

Lors de sa comparution initiale, le 3 septembre 1997, Nyiramasuhuko a plaidé non coupable des cinq chefs d’accusation dont elle avait été inculpée dans le premier acte d’accusation. Nyiramasuhuko était accusée d’«entente en vue de commettre le génocide», de «génocide» ou alternativement de «complicité dans le génocide», ainsi que d’«incitation directe et publique à commettre le génocide», d’«assassinat constitutif de crime contre l’humanité», d’«extermination constitutive de crime contre l’humanité», de «persécutions pour des raisons politiques, raciales et religieuses constitutives de crime contre l’humanité», d’«actes inhumains constitutifs de crime contre l’humanité» et de différents crimes de guerre. Dans une décision du 10 août 1999, des «viols constitutifs de crime contre l’humanité»,furent ajoutés à l’acte d’accusation, portant à onze le nombre de chefs d’accusation. Nyiramasuhuko a de nouveau plaidé non coupable le 12 août 1999.

Le 6 octobre 1999, le TPIR – sur requête du procureur – a ordonné un procès collectif pour Nyiramasuhuko et cinq autres personnes accusées de crimes commis dans la préfecture de Butare au Rwanda en 1994. Les cinq co-accusés sont son fils Arsène Shalom Ntahobali (dirigeant d’un groupe de milicien), Joseph Kanyabashi(bourgmestre de Ngoma), Sylvain Nsabimana (préfet de Butare), Alphonse Nteziryayo(commandant de la police militaire puis préfet de Butare) et Elie Ndayambaje(bourgmestre de Muganza)..

Le procès, intitulé «procès collectif du groupe de Butare», a commencé le 12 juin 2001 devant la deuxième Chambre de première instance du TPIR.

Les plaidoiries finales se sont terminées le 30 avril 2009 après que le procureur ait requis la prison à perpétuité contre l’accusée.

Le 24 juin 2011 Nyiramasuhuko a été condamnée à la perpétuité par le TPIR, après avoir été reconnue coupable d’entente en vue de commettre un génocide, génocide, extermination, viols, persécution, atteinte à la vie, outrage à la dignité de la personne humaine et autres actes inhumains. Dans le résumé du jugement, le Tribunal a indiqué que l’ancienne ministre «s’est entendue avec d’autres membres du gouvernement intérimaire afin de commettre des actes de génocide à Butare», et par ailleurs, «elle exerçait une responsabilité de supérieur hiérarchique sur les (miliciens) Interahamwe qui ont commis des viols au bureau préfectoral de Butare».

Nyiramasuhuko et cinq autres condamnés ont fait appel de ce jugement de première instance.

Le procès en appel des six anciens officiels de Butare a débuté le 14 avril 2015. Pendant l’audience de plaidoiries, Nyiramasuhuko a clamé son innocence. Son équipe de défense a plaidé que le verdict de première instance était entièrement fondé sur des témoignages incohérents, et a donc sollicité un réexamen des preuves. La défense a également soutenu que les juges de première instance avaient commis une erreur en condamnant Nyiramasuhuko d’entente en vue de commettre un génocide dans la mesure où ce crime ne figurait pas dans l’acte d’accusation.

Le parquet a requis la confirmation du verdict de première instance, soulignant le rôle clef qu’a joué Nyiramasuhuko dans le génocide.

Dans sa décision du 14 décembre 2015, la Cour d’appel a réduit la peine de Nyiramasuhuko à 47 ans de prison, jugeant que son droit à un procès dans un délai raisonnable avait été violé. Les juges ont également relevé que la Cour d’appel avait erré en condamnant Nyiramasuhuko pour le crime contre l’humanité de persécution pour des motifs discriminatoires qui n’étaient pas mentionnés dans le Statut du TIPR. La Cour a écarté les autres arguments de Nyiramasuhuko.

point fort

Pauline Nyiramasuhuko est la première femme inculpée par le Tribunal Pénal International pour le Rwanda. Elle est aussi la première femme inculpée de «viols constitutifs de crime contre l’humanité» de toute l’histoire de la justice pénale internationale.
Le procès « Butare » est le plus long et sans doute aussi le plus coûteux de la justice pénale internationale. Les débats ont été particulièrement longs en raison notamment de difficultés avec les témoins et de l’extrême lenteur des interrogatoires. Plusieurs témoins experts ont été cités dans le procès, dont certains sont restés un mois dans le box. Lors de la présentation des preuves à décharge, des conflits d’intérêt entre accusés ont ralenti davantage la procédure.

Le verdict de la Cour d’appel du 14 décembre 2015 marque la fin du travail du TPIR. Le procès de Nyiramasuhuko qui a débuté en Juin 2001, aura duré 14 ans.

contexte

Le Rwanda était historiquement peuplé par trois groupes sociaux distincts, appelés Hutu, Tutsi et Twa. Entre les mois d’avril et de juillet 1994, le pays a été déchiré par un génocide sanglant, au cours duquel les extrémistes Hutus ont pris pour cible les Tutsis et les Hutus modérés. La Mission des Nations Unies au Rwanda (MINUAR) était impuissante contre les génocidaires, les casques bleusn’étant pas assez nombreux.

LE TRIBUNAL PENAL INTERNATIONAL POUR LE RWANDA (TPIR)

Afin de faciliter le processus de réconciliation nationale et de promouvoir la paix dans le pays, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a adopté le 8 novembre 1994 la Résolution 955 instituant le Tribunal pénal international pour le Rwanda (TPIR), situé à Arusha, en Tanzanie.

La fonction du Tribunal est de poursuivre les auteurs de crimes de génocide, crimes contre l’humanité et crimes de guerre commis entre le 1 janvier et le 31 décembre 1994 au Rwanda. Depuis sa création, 92 personnes ont été inculpées devant le TPIR. Certaines procédures sont toutefois toujours en cours. Le Conseil de sécurité a demandé au Tribunal de terminer ses activités avant le 31 décembre 2014.

Le TPIR devrait fermer ses portes en 2015.

Le Conseil de Sécurité des Nations Unies a établi dans sa résolution 1966 (2010) un Mécanisme International Résiduel pour les Tribunaux Pénaux (ci-après ‘le Mécanisme’) afin de prendre en charge les fonctions et activités qui resteront en place suite à la fermeture du TPIR, ainsi que de celle du Tribunal Pénal International pour l’ex-Yougoslavie (ou TPIY). Le Mécanisme, qui fonctionne depuis le 1 juillet 2012, a déjà pris en charge certaines des fonctions actuelles du TPIR telles que l’exécution des peines des personnes condamnées par le TPIR, la recherche, l’arrestation et la poursuite des fugitifs assignés en justice devant le Mécanisme, et enfin le soin et la protection des témoins.

LES JURIDICTIONS ‘GACACA’

Dès 1998, des réflexions ont été engagées – sous la direction du Président de la République rwandaise – sur le possible recours à des tribunaux traditionnels afin de soutenir le système judiciaire ordinaire et le TPIR. Une commission a été créée pour étudier cette possibilité, et son rapport a été la base de la loi organique du 26 janvier 2001, qui a créé les Juridictions Gacaca.

Ces tribunaux étaient chargés de juger les auteurs matériaux du génocide, en dehors des ‘planificateurs’ qui devaient être jugé devant les juridictions ordinaires. Les juridictions Gacaca étaient constituées d’assemblées populaires élues composées de juges non professionnels. La composition et le fonctionnement de ces tribunaux ont soulevé plusieurs préoccupations au sujet du respect du droit à un procès équitable.

Selon les autorités rwandaises, au cours de leur fonctionnement, les tribunaux Gacaca ont jugé presque deux millions de personnes. Le 18 juin 2012, le président rwandaisPaul Kagame a annoncé la fin officielle de l’activité des juridictions Gacaca.

Pauline Nyiramasuhuko

07.05.2016 ( Last modified: 22.07.2016 )
Trial Watch would like to remind its users that any person charged by national or international authorities is presumed innocent until proven guilty.

facts

Pauline Nyiramasuhuko was born in 1946 in the commune of Ndora, Butare prefecture, Rwanda. Born into a farming family, she became a local success story.

At college, she became friends with Agathe Kanziga who, later, was to marry the Hutu President Juvénal Habyarimana. After completing her studies, she left Butare for Kigali where she took up a post in the Ministry for Social Affairs. At the age of 22, Nyiramasuhuko became National Inspector at the Ministry. In 1968, she married Maurice Ntahobali, who became President of the Rwandan National Assembly, then Minister of Higher Education and finally Rector of the National University of Butare. Nyiramasuhuko then started her law studies.

In 1992, at a time when she was already one of the leaders of the National Republican Movement for Democracy (MRND, the Presidential party), she was nominated to the position of Minister for the Family and Woman’s Affairs. She held this position up until July 1994, the date at which she fled Rwanda. In this capacity, she held authority and control over all of the institutions and the personnel within her Ministry. Furthermore, she attended meetings of the Council of Ministers where she became acquainted with the socio-political situation of the country and where she was made aware of government policies. She also participated in the development and implementation of the policies adopted by the interim government.

From the end of 1990 until July 1994, Nyiramasuhuko was said to have adhered to, and participated in the detailed development of a plan aimed at exterminating the Tutsis. Amongst other elements, this plan included recourse to hatred and ethnic violence, the training of and distribution of arms to militias as well as the drafting of lists of people to be eliminated. In the accomplishment of this plan, she reportedly planned, ordered and participated in the massacres.

From April to July 1994, Nyiramasuhuko was said to have publicly incited the population to exterminate the Tutsi population. Between 9 April and 14 July 1994, during various meetings of the Council of Ministers, several ministers, one of which being Nyiramasuhuko, reportedly made requests for arms for distribution within their home prefectures in order to perpetrate massacres. During the course of these meetings, the interim government adopted directives and issued instructions to préfets (prefecture heads) and mayors which were aimed at inciting, encouraging and helping them to commit massacres. To ensure that these directives were carried out, the interim government designated, for each prefecture, a minister responsible for what was called “pacification”. Nyiramasuhuko was named as the minister responsible for “pacification” for the Butare prefecture.

Soon after the arrival of Nyiramasuhuko in Butare, cars with loudspeakers drove around the streets of Butare announcing that the Red Cross had set up camp in a stadium not far from there to provide food and shelter to the population. On 25 April 1994, thousands of Tutsis decided to go to the stadium. It turned out to be a trap. Instead of finding food and shelter, the refugees were surrounded by the Interahamwe (extremist Hutu militia). Nyimarasuhuko then allegedly supervised an attack against them and encouraged the participation of the Interahamwe. She was also said to have ordered that the women be raped before being killed. At the end of this massacre, Nyiramasuhuko reportedly went to an encampment where a group of Interahamwe were holding prisoner some 70 Tutsi women and young girls. According to the Prosecutor of the ICTR (International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda), she gave an order to the Interahamwe to rape the women before sprinkling them with petrol and burning them to death.

The préfet of Butare, the only one of Tutsi origin in the country, openly contested the massacres in his prefecture. For this reason, thousands of Tutsis had sought refuge in Butare from the beginning of the massacres. Being aware of the specific situation predominating in Butare, Nyiramasuhuko dismissed the préfet and then reportedly incited the population to get involved in the massacres. Some time after this, the préfet was arrested and murdered. On 20 April 1994, Nyiramasuhuko reportedly asked the new préfet, Sylvain Nsabimana, to provide her with military assistance in order to proceed with further massacres in Ngoma commune.

Between April and July 1994, a roadblock was set up close to the home of Nyiramasuhuko. The latter, together with her son Arsène Shalom Ntahobali mounted the guard over this roadblock. During this entire period, with military help, this roadblock was used as a means to identify, abduct and murder Tutsis.

Between 19 April and end of June 1994, Nyiramasuhuko and her son, accompanied by the Interahamwe and the military, were reported to have gone to the offices of the prefecture on several occasions to pick up Tutsis. Those who tried to resist were assaulted and in some instances killed on the spot. As for the others, they were taken away to different places in the prefecture, and in particular to the forest close to the Rwandan Evangelical School, where they were executed. Just before they were transported away, the victims were often forced to take off their clothes before being forced into the vehicles. Nyiramasuhuko is also said to have selected Tutsi woman, at this point, to be raped.

In July 1994, in the face of the advancing FPR (Front Patriotique Rwandais, an opposition group consisting mainly of Tutsi refugees and led by Paul Kagame), Nyiramasuhuko fled Rwanda in the direction of the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC). After going into hiding in a refugee camp in the DRC, she finally made her way to Kenya, where she lived as a fugitive for almost three years. On 18 July 1997, she was arrested in Nairobi.

legal procedure

Pauline Nyiramasuhuko was arrested, on request of the Chief Prosecutor of the ICTR (International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda), on 18 July in Nairobi, Kenya. She was transferred on the same day to the United Nations prison quarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

On her initial court appearance on 3 September 1997, Nyiramasuhuko pleaded not guilty to the five charges with which she was indicted, based on the initial indictment. Nyiramasuhuko was accused of “conspiracy to commit genocide”, “genocide”, or alternatively “complicity in genocide”, as well as “direct and public incitement to commit genocide”, “murder as a crime against humanity”, “extermination as a crime against humanity”, “persecutions on political, racial and religious grounds as a crime against humanity”, “inhumane acts as a crime against humanity” and various war crimes. In a decision dated 10 August 1999, rape as a crime against humanity was added to the indictment, which brought the number of charges up to eleven. Nyiramasuhuko again pleaded not guilty on 12 August 1999.

On 6 October 1999, the ICTR, on request of the Prosecutor, ordered a combined trial for Nyiramasuhuko and five other persons accused of crimes committed in the Butare prefecture of Rwanda in 1994. The five co-accused are: her son Arsène Shalom Ntahobali (leader of a militia group), Joseph Kanyabashi (Mayor of Ngoma), Sylvain Nsabimana (Préfet of Butare) and Elie Ndayambaje (Mayor of Muganza).

The trial entitled “the collective trial of the Butare group” or “Butare Six” commenced on 12 June 2001 before the Second Trial Chamber of the ICTR.

The closing arguments began on 20 April 2009. The longest and the largest trial before the ICTR ended on 1 May 2009 after parties concluded their closing arguments.

On 24 June 2011 Nyiramasuhuko was sentenced to life imprisonment by the ICTR, after being convicted of conspiracy to commit genocide, genocide, extermination, rape, persecution, violence to life in the form of murder and other inhumane acts. In the summary of the judgement, the Tribunal indicated that the former minister “had agreed with other members of the interim government to commit genocide in Butare”, and she “exercised command responsibility over the Interahamwe (militia) who committed the rapes in Butare prefecture office”.

Nyiramasuhuko, along with her five co-defendants, appealed the first instance verdict.

The appeal of the six officials from Butare began on 14 April 2015. During the plea hearings, Nyiramasuhuko claimed her innocence. Her defence team argued that the first instance trial verdict was based on contradictory and incoherent testimonies, and called for a reconsideration of the evidence. The defence also contended that the trial judges erred in convicting Nyiramasuhuko of conspiracy to commit genocide, as this crime was not included in the indictment.

The prosecution requested the judges to uphold the first instance conviction, stressing the key role Nyiramasuhuko played in the genocide.

The Appeals Chamber delivered its judgment on 14 December 2015, reducing Nyiramasuhuko sentence to 47 years of imprisonment. The Appeals Chamber ruled that her right to be tried without undue delay had been violated. It found proprio motu that the Trial Chamber erred in convicting Nyiramasuhuko for persecution as a crime against humanity since the crimes had not been committed on one of the three discriminatory grounds enumerated in the Statute of the ICTR. The Appeals Chamber further dismissed Nyiramasuhuko’s appeal in all other respects

spotlight

Pauline Nyiramasuhuko is the first woman to be indicted by the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda. She is also the first woman to be indicted for “rape as a crime against humanity” in the whole history of international criminal law.
The « Butare Six » trial has been the longest and also the most costly trial in the history of international criminal justice. The proceedings were particularly lengthy not least because of difficulties with certain witnesses and the extreme length of examinations. Several expert witnesses spent a month on the stand. During the case for the defence, conflicts of interest which arose between the defendants added to the lengthiness of the proceedings.

The verdict of the Appeals Court delivered on 14 December 2015 marked the end of the ICTR’s work. The trial of Nyiramasuhuko, which started in June 2001, lasted 14 years.

context

Rwanda has been historically inhabited by three distinct social groups, known as Hutu, Tutsi and Twa. Between April and July 1994 the country was torn apart by a bloody genocide, during which extremist Hutu people targeted Tutsis and moderate Hutus. The United Nations Assistance Mission for Rwanda (UNAMIR) was powerless against those committing the genocide, as the peacekeeping troops were outnumbered.

THE INTERNATIONAL CRIMINAL TRIBUNAL FOR RWANDA (ICTR)

In hopes of facilitating the process of national reconciliation and to promote peace in the country, on 8 November 1994 the United Nations Security Council adopted Resolution 955, establishing the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR), located in Arusha, Tanzania.

The Tribunal’s function is to prosecute perpetrators of crimes of genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes committed between 1 January and 31 December 1994 in Rwanda. Since its inception, 92 persons have been indicted in front of the ICTR. Some proceedings are however still ongoing.

The ICTR is primed to close down in 2015.

Regarding what will happen to the functions and activities that will outlive the ICTR, the UN Security Council established the International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals (or “the Mechanism”), in Resolution 1966 (2010), to take over the remaining functions of both the ICTR and the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY). The Mechanism, which has been functioning since 1 July 2012, has already taken over some of the ongoing functions of the ICTR, including the enforcement of sentences of those convicted and sentenced by the Tribunal, the tracking, arrest and prosecution of fugitives earmarked for trial at the Mechanism, and the care and protection of witnesses.

THE GACACA COURTS

In 1998, discussions began under the direction of the President of the Republic of Rwanda about the possible use of traditional courts to support the ordinary Rwandan judicial system and the ICTR. A commission was created to study this possibility, and its report provided the basis of the Organic Law of 26 January 2001, which created the Gacaca Courts.

These courts were in charge of trying the low and middle-level perpetrators of the genocide, apart from the “planners” who should have been tried before national courts. The Gacaca courts were composed of elected popular assemblies, made up of non-professional judges. The composition and functioning of such courts raised several concerns about the respect of fair trial guarantees.

According to Rwandan authorities, during their functioning, the Gacaca courts tried almost two million people. On 18 June 2012 Rwandan President Paul Kagameannounced the official end of Gacaca courts’ activity.