Raed Abdulkareem

20.03.2017
Trial Watch rappelle que jusqu'à ce qu'une éventuelle condamnation soit entrée en force, toute personne accusée ou poursuivie par une juridiction nationale ou internationale est présumée innocente.

Faits

Lorsqu’il luttait contre les militants de Daesh’ en tant que membre des forces armées irakiennes au printemps 2015, Raed Abdulkareem a été pris en photo avec les dépouilles de combattants ennemis. Les photos, postées sur Facebook en juillet 2015, montrent le jeune homme de 24 ans posant avec son uniforme militaire devant des cadavres décapités et une tête tranchée sur un plat.

Procédure Légale

En septembre 2016, l’irakien Raed Adbulkareem a été accusé de crimes de guerre pour avoir posé devant les cadavres de militants de Daesh’ en Irak. Les clichés ont été découverts pendant une autre enquête pour vol, pour laquelle il est actuellement condamné à 42 mois de prison.

L’homme de 24 ans a admis avoir posé sur ces photos mais affirme qu’il a été forcé à le faire. Néanmoins, Raed Abdulkareem a été reconnu coupable de crimes de guerre le 6 décembre 2016 et condamné à 6 mois de prison par un tribunal suédois (Blekinge district). Le condamné et le procureur ont fait appel.

Raed Abdulkareem

08.02.2017
Trial Watch would like to remind its users that any person charged by national or international authorities is presumed innocent until proven guilty.

Facts

While fighting IS militants as a member of the Iraqi armed forces in spring 2015, Raed Abdulkareem posed for pictures with the dead bodies of enemy fighters. The photos, which he posted on Facebook in July 2015, show the 24-year old standing in military uniform among several decapitated bodies and a severed head on a plate.

Legal Procedure

In September 2016, Iraqi national Raed Abdulkareem was charged with committing a war crime for allegedly posing with the dead bodies of Islamic State (IS) fighters in Iraq. The incriminating photos were discovered during a separate investigation into a robbery, for which Abdulkareem is currently serving a 42-month sentence.

The 24-year old admitted to being in the photos but denied any wrongdoing, claiming he had been forced to pose for them. However, on 6 December 2016, Raed Abdulkareem was found guilty of war crimes and sentenced to 6 months’ imprisonment by the Blekinge District Court for posing next to the severed heads.

The judgment has been appealed both by the prosecutors and the defendant.