RWM Italia

03.07.2019
Trial Watch rappelle que jusqu'à ce qu'une éventuelle condamnation soit entrée en force, toute personne accusée ou poursuivie par une juridiction nationale ou internationale est présumée innocente.

Faits

Le 8 octobre 2016, des frappes aériennes lancées par la coalition menée par l’Arabie saoudite à Deir Al-Hajari au Yémen auraient tué six civils. A l’endroit des frappes, un anneau de suspension manufacturé par RWM Italia S.p.A a été retrouvé. D’autres indices retrouvés sur place indiquent l’utilisation d’une bombe téléguidée. Des témoignages confirment qu’il n’y avait aucun objectif militaire dans le voisinage de la maison qui avait été ciblée par les frappes aériennes.

Procédure Légale

Le 17 avril 2018, une plainte a été conjointement déposée auprès du Procureur Général de Rome par les organisations ECCHR (Centre Européen pour les droits constitutionnels et humains), l’organisation Mwatana pour les droits humains basée au Yémen, et la Rete Italiana per Il Disarmo basée en Italie, en coopération avec l’Osservatorio Permanente sulle Armi Leggere e le Politiche di Sicurezza e Difesa (O.P.A.L). Le Procureur a ouvert une enquête, qui est toujours en cours.

La plainte vise l’attaque par la coalition de Deir Al-Hajari au Yémen le 8 octobre 2016. Selon celle-ci, les directeurs de RWM Italia et des fonctionnaires de l’Autorité Nationale des autorisations à l’exportation d’armement (UAMA) seraient responsables de l’exportation d’au moins une partie de l’armement utilisé lors des frappes menées par l’Arabie Saoudite ou un état membre de la coalition menée par l’Arabie Saoudite. En effet, malgré les avertissements concernant les importantes pertes humaines et les violations de droit international humanitaire perpétrées par cette coalition de certains pays arabes et menée par l’Arabie Saoudite, les exportations de bombes et d’autres armes à des pays membres de la coalition n’ont pas cessé. En Italie, l’Autorité pour l’Exportation d’Armement continuerait à autoriser ces exportations d’armement manufacturés en Italie.

UJAR

Your download of the UJAR has started. Please fill out the following form to stay informed about universal jurisdiction and our work!

x

RWM Italia

03.07.2019 ( Last modified: 07.04.2021 )
TRIAL International reminds its visitors that any person charged by national or international authorities is presumed innocent until proven guilty.

Facts

On 8 October 2016, air strikes launched by the coalition led by Saudi Arabia in Deir Al-Hajari, Yemen, killed six civilians. In the place of those strikes, a suspension lug manufactured by the RWM Italia S.p.A was found. Other remnants indicated use of a guided bomb. Testimonies of eye witnesses stipulate that there was no legitimate target in the vicinity of the house (inhabited by civilians), targeted by the strike.

 

Legal Procedure

On 17 April 2018, a joint criminal complaint by the European Centre for Constitutional and Human Right (ECCHR), Yemen-based Mwatana Organization for Human Rights, and Italian-based Rete Italiana per Il Disarmo, in cooperation with Osservatorio Permanente sulle Armi Leggere e le Politiche di Sicurezza e Difesa (O.P.A.L), was filed with the Public Prosecutor in Rome. The Prosecutor has opened an investigation which is still ongoing.

The complaint concerns the strike in in Deir Al-Hajari by the coalition, launched on 8 October 2016. According to the complaint, the directors of RWM Italia and officials of the National Authority for the Armament Licensing and Controls (UAMA) would be responsible for the export of at least some of the weapons used in the strikes carried out by Saudi Arabia or another member state of the coalition led by Saudi Arabia. Despite the often expressed concerns about the significant civilian casualties and violations of international humanitarian law perpetrated by this coalition led by Saudi Arabia, the exporters as well as the authorities failed to take appropriate measures. Arms export to the coalition countries has not ceased and the UAMA continues to license the transfer of those arms manufactured in Italy to the coalition countries.

In October 2019, the Italian Public Prosecutor’s Office in Rome requested a dismissal of the case . The three organizations who filed the complaint appealed this decision.

Following the dismissal of the case by the Italian Public Prosecutor in Rome and the subsequent appeal against the dismissal, the appeal hearing was scheduled for February 2020. However, due to the covid-19 pandemic, the hearing was postponed until 2021.

©2021 trialinternational.org | All rights reserved | Privacy Policy | Statutes | Designed and Produced by ACW