Sefer Halilovic

21.12.2009 ( Modifié le : 28.09.2016 )
Trial Watch rappelle que jusqu'à ce qu'une éventuelle condamnation soit entrée en force, toute personne accusée ou poursuivie par une juridiction nationale ou internationale est présumée innocente.

Faits

Sefer Halilovic est né le 6 janvier 1952 à Prijepolje dans la région du Sandzak, en Serbie.

Selon l’acte d’accusation, en 1993, l’Armée de la République de Bosnie-Herzégovine (l’ABiH) a planifié et exécuté l’opération «Neretva-93», une opération militaire dont l’objectif principal était de s’emparer du territoire contrôlé par les forces croates de Bosnie (HVO) entre Bugojno et Mostar en lançant des offensives dans la région pour mettre fin au blocus de Mostar.

Il est allégué que, le 8 septembre 1993, le village de Grabovica (situé au bord de la Neretva sur la route principale allant de Sarajevo à Mostar) a été le théâtre de tirs incessants. Au cours des deux jours suivants, des témoins ont vu des cadavres de civils croates de Bosnie dans le village, et flottant dans la Neretva.

Au total, 33 civils croates de Bosnie, nommés dans l’acte d’accusation, ont été tués à Grabovica.

De plus, le 14 septembre 1993, au cours de l’opération «Neretva-93», le bataillon indépendant de Prozor a attaqué le village d’Uzdol, dans la municipalité de Prozor, qui était à l’époque peuplé exclusivement de civils croates de Bosnie. Au cours de l’attaque, 29 civils et un prisonnier de guerre du HVO ont été tués.

Selon l’acte d’accusation, Sefer Halilovic a exercé les fonctions de commandant adjoint de l’état-major du commandement suprême et de chef de l’état-major du commandement suprême de l’ABiH du 18 juillet 1993 jusqu’en novembre 1993. Le 21 août 1993, Sefer Halilovic a été nommé chef d’une équipe d’inspecteurs, chargé de commander et de coordonner l’opération «Neretva-93». Il était donc, sur le terrain, le plus haut responsable militaire de l’opération.

Il est allégué qu’en dépit de ses responsabilités de commandant, Sefer Halilovic n’a pris aucune mesure concrète pour empêcher le massacre de civils à Grabovica et Uzdol, et qu’il n’a pas non plus tenté de mener une enquête sérieuse pour identifier et punir les auteurs de ces massacres. Il est également allégué que l’accusé a planifié les opérations militaires exécutées par les unités qui ont participé à l’opération «Neretva-93», et qu’il y a joué un rôle majeur.

Sefer Halilovic s’est rendu le 25 septembre 2001 au Tribunal pénal international pour l’ex-Yougoslavie (TPIY) et a été transféré à La Haye le même jour.

procédure légale

Sefer Halilovic s’est rendu le 25 septembre 2001 au Tribunal pénal international pour l’ex-Yougoslavie (TPIY) et a été transféré à La Haye le même jour.

Le 27 septembre 2001, lors de sa comparution initiale, il a plaidé non coupable de l’accusation de violation des lois et coutumes de la guerre retenue contre lui.

En vertu de l’acte d’accusation, Sefer Halilovic est en effet poursuivi devant le TPIY pour meurtre, une violation des lois et coutumes de la guerre au sens de l’article 3 Statut TPIY, au titre de sa responsabilité de supérieur hiérarchique (art. 7 par. 3 Statut TPIY).

Le 13 décembre 2001, il a été remis en liberté jusqu’à l’ouverture du procès.

Le procès a débuté le 31 janvier 2005.

L’Accusation a conclu la présentation de ses moyens le 2 juin 2005. La Chambre de première instance a entendu 39 témoins à charge et admis 2 déclarations écrites, ainsi que 287 pièces à charge.

La Défense a présenté ses moyens du 27 juin au 14 juillet 2005. La Chambre de première instance a entendu 3 témoins à décharge et admis 12 déclarations écrites, ainsi que. 207 pièces à conviction à décharge. Le réquisitoire et les plaidoiries ont eu lieu les 30 et 31 août 2005.

Le 16 novembre 2005, la Chambre de première instance du TPIY a acquitté Sefer Halilovic de l’accusation retenue contre lui.

Il a immédiatement été remis en liberté.

Le Procureur a interjeté appel contre le verdict. Le 16 octobre 2007 la Chambre d’appel du TPIY a confirmé l’acquittement.

point fort

Dans le jugement, la Chambre de première instance définit la notion et l’objet de la responsabilité du supérieur:
« It is clear that the form of responsibility set out in Article 7(3) of the Statute is based upon the duty of superiors to act, which consists of a duty to prevent and a duty to punish criminal acts of their subordinates.” (Halilovic, Chambre de première instance, 16 novembre 2005, §38)

“The Trial Chamber recalls that the purpose behind the concept of command responsibility is to ensure compliance with the laws and customs of war and international humanitarian law generally. The principle of command responsibility may be seen in part to arise from one of the basic principles of international humanitarian law aiming at ensuring protection for protected categories of persons and objects during armed conflicts. This protection is at the very heart of international humanitarian law. Ensuring this protection requires, in the first place, preventative measures which commanders are in a position to take, by virtue of the effective control which they have over their subordinates, thereby ensuring the enforcement of international humanitarian law in armed conflict. A commander who possesses effective control over the actions of his subordinates is duty bound to ensure that they act within the dictates of international humanitarian law and that the laws and customs of war are therefore respected.” (Halilovic, Chambre de première instance, 16 novembre 2005, §39)

contexte

Le Tribunal Pénal International pour l’ex-Yougoslavie :

Le conflit en ex-Yougoslavie, de 1991 à 1999, a choqué l’opinion publique internationale du fait des exactions commises par les différentes parties au conflit (massacres, déplacements forcés de population, camps de concentration…) et relayées par la presse. Le conflit est généralement considéré comme plusieurs conflits séparés, tous de nature ethnique : la guerre en Slovénie (1991), la guerre en Croatie (1991-1995), la guerre en Bosnie-Herzégovine (1992-1995) et la guerre au Kosovo (1998-1999). Cette dernière inclut aussi le bombardement de la Yougoslavie par l’OTAN en 1999.

Ces conflits ont accompagné le morcellement de la Yougoslavie, quand les républiques qui constituaient le pays ont déclaré leur indépendance. Dans l’ensemble, ces guerres ont pris fin avec la signature d’accords de paix, et les nouvelles républiques ont obtenu une pleine reconnaissance internationale de leur souveraineté.

Afin de rétablir la paix et la sécurité internationales dans la région, le Conseil de sécurité, agissant en vertu du Chapitre VII de la Charte de l’ONU, a créé le 25 mai 1993, par la résolution 827, le Tribunal Pénal International pour l’ex-Yougoslavie (TPIY). Il a été déterminé qu’en raison de nombreuses allégations, entre autres de meurtres collectifs, détention systématique, viols, pratiques d’épuration ethnique, transferts de population, etc. ces actes constituaient une menace à la paix et à la sécurité internationales, justifiant une réaction du Conseil de sécurité. Le Tribunal ayant été créé alors que le conflit sévissait encore, le Conseil de sécurité a exprimé l’espoir que le TPIY contribuerait à mettre un terme aux violences dans la région. Son siège se trouve à La Haye, aux Pays-Bas.

Le Tribunal est compétent pour juger les personnes présumées responsables de violations graves du droit international humanitaire – infractions sérieuses aux Conventions de Genève, violations des droits et coutumes de la guerre, génocide et crimes contre l’humanité- soupçonnées d’avoir été commises sur le territoire de l’ex-Yougoslavie depuis 1991. Depuis sa création, le TPIY a inculpé plus de 160 personnes dont des chefs d’Etat et membres de gouvernements.

Le mandat du Tribunal était supposé expirer le 31 décembre 2009, mais le Conseil de sécurité a décidé à l’unanimité de prolonger le mandat de plusieurs juges du Tribunal, dont les juges permanents, afin que les procès en cours puissent être terminés. Selon le « Rapport sur la stratégie d’achèvement des travaux » du 18 mai 2015, tous les procès auraient dû être terminés avant fin 2012, et tous les appels avant fin 2015, à l’exception des affaires Radovan Karadzic, Ratko Mladic et Goran Hadzic.

Le Conseil de sécurité a adopté la résolution 1966 le 22 décembre 2010, établissant le mécanisme international chargé d’exercer les fonctions résiduelles des tribunaux pénaux internationaux (« le mécanisme résiduel »). Le mécanisme résiduel est entré en action le 1er juillet 2013.

Le Tribunal aurait dû achever son travail avant fin 2014, afin de préparer sa fermeture et le transfert des affaires au Mécanisme. Ce dernier est un petit organe provisoire, qui contribue à garantir que la stratégie d’achèvement du TPIY ne résulte pas en une impunité pour les fugitifs et en injustice. Il conduit tous les procès en première instance, y compris ceux de Karadzic, Mladic et Hadzic. Il conduit également tous les appels introduits avant le 1er juillet 2013.

Le TPIY n’est pas la seule juridiction compétente pour juger les auteurs présumés de violations graves du droit international humanitaire commises en ex-Yougoslavie. Le Tribunal exerce sa compétence en concurrence avec les juridictions nationales. Cependant, il a la primauté sur celles-ci et peut demander le dessaisissement d’une juridiction nationale à tout stade de la procédure (art.9 du Statut du TPIY).  Le Statut n’explique pas en détails comment cette primauté est supposée être exercée, mais cela a été réaffirmé par les juges dans les Règles de procédure et de preuve. La primauté du Tribunal s’applique dans trois cas : si un crime de droit international est jugé par une cour nationale, intentionnellement ou non, en tant que « crime de droit ordinaire » ; si une cour nationale n’est pas fiable ; ou si l’affaire est intimement liée ou pourrait être d’intérêt pour une affaire en cours devant le TPIY.

Juridictions nationales :

Les juridictions nationales sont également compétentes pour poursuivre les auteurs présumés de violations graves du droit international humanitaire.

En ex-Yougoslavie, les procès de personnes accusées de crimes de guerre ont été ouverts par des tribunaux de Bosnie-Herzégovine. La Section pour les crimes de guerre a été ouverte par la Division pénale et d’appel de la Cour de Bosnie-Herzégovine. La Chambre spéciale pour les crimes de guerre est compétente pour poursuivre les plus grands criminels de guerre présumés et a été créée pour désengorger le TPIY, afin que ce dernier puisse se concentrer sur les criminels de haut rang. Son établissement a aussi été considéré comme nécessaire à la poursuite efficace des crimes de guerre en Bosnie. L’inauguration de cette Chambre spéciale a eu lieu le 9 mars 2005.

De plus, en application de la Résolution 1244 du Conseil de sécurité de l’ONU du 10 juin 1999, une administration onusienne a été créée au Kosovo. En conséquence, des panels « régulation 64 » ont été créés dans les Cours du Kosovo en 2000. Il s’agit de chambres mixtes dans les cours locales, comprenant deux juges internationaux et un juge national. Ces panels travaillent en collaboration avec le TPIY. Ils ont juridiction sur les individus présumés responsables de génocide, crimes de guerre et crimes contre l’humanité. Leur tâche se concentre sur les responsables de moindre importance hiérarchique.

En Serbie, le Bureau du Procureur pour les crimes de guerre a été établi le 1er juillet 2003. Il a été créé pour trouver et poursuivre les auteurs présumés de crimes contre l’humanité et contre le droit international, ainsi que pour les crimes reconnus par le Statut du TPIY. Cette compétence ne dépend pas de la nationalité, de la citoyenneté, de la race ou de la religion de l’auteur et de la victime, du moment que les actes ont été commis sur le territoire de l’ex-Yougoslavie après le 1er janvier 1991. Son siège est à Belgrade, en Serbie.

D’autres juridictions nationales sont également compétentes en vertu du principe de compétence universelle, qui permet aux Etats dotés d’une base légale spécifique, de juger les auteurs des crimes les plus graves quelle que soit leur nationalité ou celle des victimes, et ce quel que soit l’endroit où a été commis le crime.

Sefer Halilovic

21.12.2009 ( Last modified: 28.09.2016 )
Trial Watch would like to remind its users that any person charged by national or international authorities is presumed innocent until proven guilty.

Facts

Sefer Halilovic was born on 6 January 1952 in Prijepolje, Sandzak region, in Serbia.

According to the indictment, the Army of Bosnia and Herzegovina (“ABiH”) in 1993, planned and conducted a military operation called “Neretva-93”, the main purpose of which was to capture territory held by the Bosnian Croat Forces (“HVO”) from Bugojno to Mostar by launching offensives within this area and thereby ending the blockade of Mostar.

It was alleged that, on 8 September 1993, there was continuous shooting in the village of Grabovica (situated on the river Neretva alongside the main road from Sarajevo to Mostar). Over the next two days the bodies of Bosnian Croat civilians were seen in the village and floating in the river. In total, 33 Bosnian Croat civilians named in the indictment were killed in Grabovica.

Further, on 14 September 1993, in the course of the Operation “Neretva-93”, the Prozor Independent Battalion attacked the village of Uzdol (in the municipality of Prozor), which was then exclusively inhabited by Bosnian Croat civilians. During the course of the attack 29 Bosnian Croat civilians and one HVO prisoner of war were killed in Uzdol.

According to the indictment, Sefer Halilovic held the post of deputy commander of the Supreme Command Staff of the ABiH as well as chief of the Supreme Command Staff of the ABiH from 18 July 1993 until November 1993. From 21 August 1993, Sefer Halilovic was head of an inspection team to command and co-ordinate the “Neretva-93” operation and as such he was the most senior military commander for the operation in the field.

It was alleged that, despite his duties as a commander, Sefer Halilovic did not take effective measures to prevent killings of civilians in Grabovica and Uzdol, and did not take steps to carry out a proper investigation to identify the perpetrators of the killings in both Grabovica and Uzdol and as commander of the operation to punish them accordingly. Further, the indictment alleged that the accused planned and was instrumental in the implementation of military operations carried out by the units which took part in the “Neretva-93” operation.

On 25 September 2001, Sefer Halilovic voluntarily surrendered to the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia and was transferred on the same day to The Hague.

Legal Procedure

On 25 September 2001, Sefer Halilovic voluntarily surrendered to the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia and was transferred on the same day to The Hague.

During his initial appearance on 27 September 2001, he pleaded not guilty to the crime he was charged with of violation of the laws and customs of war.

Sefer Halilovic was charged on the basis of his superior criminal responsibility (Article 7 § 3 ICTY Statute) with one count of violation of the laws and customs of war (Article 3 – murder).

Sefer Halilovic was provisionally released from 13 December 2001 until the beginning of the trial.

The trial against Sefer Halilovic commenced on 31 January 2005. The Prosecution completed its case on 2 June 2005. There were 39 witnesses for the prosecution who gave evidence and there were two written statements as well as well as 287 exhibits of circumstantial evidence.

The Defence case commenced on 27 June 2005 and lasted until 14 July 2005. Three defence witnesses gave evidence and there were 12 written statements as well as 207 exhibits for the defence. The parties made their closing arguments on 30 and 31 August 2005.

On 16 November 2005, the Trial Chamber acquitted Sefer Halilovic of the charge held against him.

Sefer Halilovic was immediately released.

The Prosecutor appealed against the verdict on 12 July 2007. On 16 October 2007 the Appeals Chamber of the ICTY confirmed Halilovic’s acquittal.

Spotlight

In the judgment, the Trial Chamber defines command responsibility and the purpose behind it:
“It is clear that the form of responsibility set out in Article 7(3) of the Statute is based upon the duty of superiors to act, which consists of a duty to prevent and a duty to punish criminal acts of their subordinates.” (Halilovic, Trial Chamber, November 16, 2005, para.38)

“The Trial Chamber recalls that the purpose behind the concept of command responsibility is to ensure compliance with the laws and customs of war and international humanitarian law generally. The principle of command responsibility may be seen in part to arise from one of the basic principles of international humanitarian law aiming at ensuring protection for protected categories of persons and objects during armed conflicts. This protection is at the very heart of international humanitarian law. Ensuring this protection requires, in the first place, preventative measures which commanders are in a position to take, by virtue of the effective control which they have over their subordinates, thereby ensuring the enforcement of international humanitarian law in armed conflict. A commander who possesses effective control over the actions of his subordinates is duty bound to ensure that they act within the dictates of international humanitarian law and that the laws and customs of war are therefore respected.” (Halilovic, Trial Chamber, November 16, 2005, para. 39)

Context

INTERNATIONAL CRIMINAL TRIBUNAL FOR FORMER YUGOSLAVIA

The conflict in former Yugoslavia from 1991 to 1999, shocked international public opinion because of the abuses revealed by the press, which were committed by all parties to the conflict (massacres, forced displacements of population, concentration camps …). The conflict is considered to consist of several separate conflicts, which were ethnic in nature – the war in Slovenia (1991), the war in Croatia (1991-1995), the war in Bosnia and Herzegovina (1992-1995) and the war Kosovo (1998-1999), which also involved the NATO bombing of Yugoslavia in 1999.

The conflicts accompanied the break-up of Yugoslavia, when the constituent republics declared their independence. The wars mostly ended after peace accords were signed, and new republics were given full international recognition of their statehood.

In order to restore peace and security in the region, the Security Council acting under Chapter VII of UN Charter, created on 25 May 1993, by Resolution 827, the International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia (ICTY). It was determined that pursuant to numerous reports of, among other, mass killings, systematic detention, rapes, practice of “ethnic cleansing”, transfers, etc., these acts constituted a threat to international peace and security, necessitating a reaction by Security Council. As the Tribunal was created during the ongoing conflict, the Security Council expressed its hopes that ICTY would contribute to halting violations in the region. Its headquarters are in The Hague, Netherlands.

The Tribunal has jurisdiction to prosecute persons responsible for serious violations of international humanitarian law – grave breaches of Geneva Conventions, violations of laws and customs of war, genocide and crimes against humanity – allegedly committed in the territory of the former Yugoslavia after 1 January 1991, (no end date was specified). Since its creation, the ICTY has indicted more than 160 people, including heads of states and government members.

The Tribunal’s mandate was originally meant to expire on 31 December 2009, but the Security Council voted unanimously to extend the mandate of the Court with several judges, including permanent judges, so that the ongoing trials can be completed. According to the “ICTY Completion Strategy Report” from 18 May 2011, all trials were supposed to be completed by the end of 2012, and all the appeals by the end of 2015. The exceptions were cases of Radovan Karadzic, Ratko Mladic and Goran Hadzic.

The Security Council adopted resolution 1966 on 22 December 2010, establishing International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals. The ICTY residual mechanism began functioning on 1 July 2013.

The Tribunal was called to finish its work by the end of 2014, in order to prepare closure and transfer of cases to the Residual Mechanism. The Mechanism is a small and temporary body, which plays important role in ensuring that the completion strategy of ICTY does not result in impunity of fugitives and in injustice. It is conducting all outstanding first instance trials, including those of Karadzic, Mladic and Hadzic. It is also to complete all appeals proceedings that were filed before 1 July 2013.

The ICTY is not the only court with jurisdiction to try alleged perpetrators of serious violations of international humanitarian law committed in the former Yugoslavia. The Tribunal has concurrent jurisdiction with national courts. However, it takes precedence over them and may require the referral from the national court at any stage of the proceedings (Article 9 of the ICTY Statute). The Statute does not elaborate how the primacy is to be exercised, but it was asserted by the judges of the ICTY in the Rules of Procedure and Evidence. The primacy can be asserted in three cases: when an international crime is intentionally or unwittingly prosecuted before national court as an “ordinary criminal offence”, when a national court is unreliable, or when the case is closely related, or may be relevant to other cases being tried by the ICTY.

NATIONAL JURISDICTIONS

National courts also have jurisdiction to prosecute alleged perpetrators of serious violations of international humanitarian law.

In the former Yugoslavia, the trials of those accused of war crimes have been opened by the courts of Bosnia and Herzegovina. The Section for War Crimes was set up in the Criminal and Appellate Divisions of the Court of Bosnia and Herzegovina. The Special Chamber for War Crimes has jurisdiction to prosecute the most serious alleged war crimes committed in Bosnia, and was created to relieve the ICTY, so that it can focus on criminals of high rank. Its establishment was also considered necessary for effective war crimes prosecution in Bosnia. The opening of the Special Chamber was on 9 March 2005.

Additionally, pursuant to UN Security Council Resolution 1244 from 10 June 1999, UN administration was created in Kosovo. Consequently, in 2000 “Regulation 64” Panels in Courts of Kosovo were created, which are mixed chambers at the local courts. They have two international judges and one national. These panels work in collaboration with the ICTY. They have jurisdiction over those responsible for genocide, war crimes and crimes against humanity. They focus on prosecuting lower ranking offenders.

In Serbia, the Office of the War Crimes Prosecutor was established on 1 July 2003. It was created to detect and prosecute perpetrators of criminal offenses against humanity and international law, and offences recognised by the ICTY Statute, regardless of the nationality, citizenship, race or religion of the perpetrator and the victim, as long as the acts were committed on the territory of former Yugoslavia after 1 January 1991. Its seat is in Belgrade, Serbia.

Other relevant national jurisdictions are under the principle of universal jurisdiction, which allows states with a specific legal basis, to try perpetrators of serious crimes regardless of their nationality or that of the victims and regardless of where the crime was committed.