fbpx

Caterpillar SA

16.05.2016 ( Modifié le : 07.10.2016 )

En mars 2011, TRIAL International et l’ONG palestinienne Al-Haq ont soutenu six familles palestiniennes dans leur dépôt d’une plainte pour crimes de guerre contre la filiale suisse du fabricant de machines de chantier Caterpillar. Motif: l’armée israélienne avait utilisé des bulldozers D9 de ce même fabricant pour détruire leurs habitations sans nécessité militaire en août 2007, lors d’un raid dans un quartier de la ville de Qalqilya (Cisjordanie).

Le 24 février 2014, le Ministère public de la Confédération (MPC) a refusé d’entrer en matière sur la plainte, au motif que les bulldozers en question n’étaient pas des armes et que l’entreprise Caterpillar ne pouvait être tenue responsable pour l’utilisation que font les acheteurs de son matériel.

TRIAL International a regretté ce classement, mais a salué le fait que la procureure ait qualifié les événements survenus en 2007 à Qalqilya de «démolitions punitives», soit de crimes de guerre commis par l’armée israélienne.

 

©2020 trialinternational.org | Tous droits réservés | Avertissement | Statuts | Designed and Produced by ACW

fbpx

Caterpillar SA

16.05.2016 ( Last modified: 07.10.2016 )

In March 2011, TRIAL International and the Palestinian NGO Al-Haq supported six Palestinian families with their filing of a complaint of war crimes against the Swiss subsidiary of Caterpillar, the manufacturer of construction site machinery. The reason for doing so was that the Israeli army had used D9 bulldozers made by the same manufacturer to destroy their homes without any military need in August 2007, during a raid on a neighborhood in the town of Qalqilya (West Bank).

On February 24, 2014, the Office of the Attorney General of Switzerland refused to pursue the complaint on the grounds that the bulldozers in question were not weapons and that the company Caterpillar could not be held responsible for the use that their buyers made of their equipment.

TRIAL International deplored the closure of this case, but welcomed the fact that the prosecutor described the events that happened in Qalqilya in 2007 as “punitive demolitions”, that is to say, war crimes committed by the Israeli army.

 

©2020 trialinternational.org | All rights reserved | Disclaimer | Statutes | Designed and Produced by ACW