fbpx

Disparition forcée de Jaballa Hamed Matar en 1990

12.02.2016 ( Last modified: 22.09.2016 )

Introduction

En novembre 2010, TRIAL a introduit une requête devant le Comité des droits de l’homme des Nations unies suite à la disparition de Jaballa Hamed Matar en 1990.

Jaballa Matar était colonel dans l’armée libyenne et est devenu membre de l’opposition après le coup d’Etat de 1969. Il a été arrêté et détenu pendant six mois en 1970, puis a travaillé quelques années pour le gouvernement, avant de démissionner en raison d’un désaccord politique. Homme d’affaires entre 1973 et 1978, il a décidé de fuir le pays l’année suivante, ne s’y sentant plus en sécurité, et de rejoindre sa famille en au Caire, où ils ont passé les onze années suivantes. Comme Izzat Al-Maqrif, Jaballa Matar était lui aussi membre du Comité exécutif du Front National pour le Salut de la Libye. Durant ces années, il a été l’auteur de nombreux articles appelant à l’instauration de démocratie, de l’état de droit et de la justice en Libye.

Le 4 et le 5 mars, des agents égyptiens du Bureau de Sécurité et d’Investigation ont pénétré dans son domicile du district de Mohandessin, au Caire et l’ont embarqué, tout comme M. Izzat Yousef Al-Maqrif – autre figure de l’opposition en exile au Caire -, et conduit au Quartier Général du Bureau de Sécurité et d’Investigation.

En arrivant, les deux hommes ont longuement été interrogés par les agents égyptiens. Ils ont ensuite été libérés, mais leurs passeports ont été confisqués. Le 12 mars 1990, les autorités égyptiennes les ont à nouveau arrêtés. Leurs proches ne les ont plus jamais revus.

Grâce à des lettres sorties clandestinement de la prison, leurs proches ont plus tard appris qu’ils avaient été conduits au quartier général de la sécurité de l’armée égyptienne pour être à nouveau interrogés, avant d’être remis à des agents libyens et transférés en Libye. De là, ils ont été emmenés et emprisonnés à la prison d’Abu Salim.

Jaballa Matar n’a jamais été présenté à un juge et n’a eu aucun moyen de remettre en cause la légalité de sa détention. De même, aucune accusation n’a jamais été portée contre lui. Les autorités n’ont jamais informé sa famille de ce qui lui est advenu. A ce jour, il est impossible de dire si Jaballa Matar est toujours vivant.

Le 8 novembre 2010, TRIAL a donc déposé pour le compte du fils de Jaballa Matar une requête auprès du Comité des droits de l’homme des Nations unies lui demandant entre autres:

 

Contexte

Depuis le coup d’Etat qui a mené le Colonel Kadhafi au pouvoir en 1969, plusieurs groupes d’opposition à son régime ont été créés à l’étranger. L’un des groupes d’opposition les plus importants était le FNSL, qui s’est opposé au pouvoir de la dictature militaire en Libye, exigeant un retour à un gouvernement démocratique, à des garanties constitutionnelles, à des élections et une presse libres et à la séparation des pouvoirs législatif, exécutif et judiciaire. Les disparitions forcées d’Izzat Al-Maqrif et de Jaballa Matar, deux membres haut placés d’un groupe d’opposition opérant depuis l’étranger, s’inscrivent dans un contexte de répression implacable mise en place par le gouvernement libyen contre de tels groupes.

 

La décision

Le Comité des droits de l’homme a décidé de traiter conjointement les affaires Al-Maqrif et Matar.

En mars 2014, le Comité a communiqué sa décision sur les deux affaires. Le Comité a déclaré que la Libye a violé les articles 6 § 1 (droit à la vie) ; 7 (interdiction de torture) ; 9 (droit a la liberté et sécurité) ; 10 § 1 (droit à un traitement humaine) ; et 16 (droit à la personnalité juridique) du Pacte international relatif aux droits civiles et politiques. Les dispositions ont été violées aussi lu conjointement avec l’art. 2 § 3 (droit à un recours effectif) à l’égard d’Izzat Yousef Al-Maqrif et Jaballa Hamed Matar. Le Comité a déclaré aussi une violation de l’art. 7, lu seule et conjointement avec l’art. 2 § 3 du Pacte à l’égard des auteurs de la communication. Dans le cas de Youcif Almegaryaf, le Comité a aussi déclaré la violation de l’art. 24 § 1 (droits des enfants) du Pacte, car il avait 6 ans quand son père a été soumis à une disparition forcée et la Libye n’as pas adopté les mesures de protection qu’exigeait sa condition de mineur.

Le Comité demande a la Libye de : (a) mener sans délai une enquête approfondie et impartial sur la disparition d’Izzat Yousef AL-Maqrif et Jaballa Hamed Matar et fournir à les familles des informations détaillées sur les résultats de l’enquête ; (b) libérer Izzat Yousef AL-Maqrif et Jaballa Hamed Matar s’ils sont encore en vie ou remettre ses dépouilles à la famille ; (c) poursuivre, juger et punir les responsables des violations commises ; et assurer une indemnisation adéquate. La Libye doit aussi rendre publique la décision et la diffuser largement dans les langues officielles.

La Libye dispose de 180 jours pour informer le Comité des mesures prises pour donner effet à la décision.

 

©2020 trialinternational.org | All rights reserved | Avertissement | Statuts | Designed and Produced by ACW

fbpx

Enforced disappearance of Jaballa Hamed Matar in 1990

12.02.2016 ( Last modified: 22.09.2016 )

Introduction

In November 2010, TRIAL submitted an individual communication before the United Nations Human Rights Committee regarding the enforced disappearance of Jaballa Hamed Matar in 1990.

Jaballa Matar was a colonel in the Libyan army and became a key member of the opposition to the government after the 1969 coup. Mr. Matar was arrested in 1970 and detained for 6 months. After his release, he worked a few years for the government and then resigned his position because of policy disagreement. He worked as a businessman from 1973 to 1978 in Libya but realising it was no longer safe to live there, Jaballa Matar and his family left the country in 1979 to settle in Egypt, where they spent 11 years in exile. While in Cairo, Jaballa Matar was a member of the Executive Committee of the National Front for the Salvation of Libya (NFSL), an opposition mouvement. As such, he wrote many articles calling for democracy, the rule of law and justice in Libya.

On 4 or 5 March 1990, agents of the State Security Investigation Bureau came to Jaballa Matar’s home in the district of Mohandessin, Cairo. They took him and Mr. Izzat Yousef Al-Maqrif – another opposition figure living in exile in Cairo – to the headquarters of the State Security Investigation Bureau.

Upon arriving, Mr. Matar and Mr. Al-Maqrif were interrogated by agents of the State Security Investigation. They were released by the Egyptian authorities, but their passports were confiscated. On 12 March 1990, Egyptian authorities returned and took the two men from their respective homes. The two were detained and not allowed to return home. Their families never saw them again.

According to letters the two men managed to smuggle out of prison, their relatives were informed that after their arrest, the two men were taken to the headquarters of the Egyptian Military Security for further interrogation and then transferred to Libya by plane from Cairo airport to Tripoli. From there, they were taken to Abu Salim prison.

Jaballa Matar was never brought before a judge nor given the possibility to challenge the legality of his detention. No charges against him were ever presented. His family was never informed by the authorities about the fate or whereabouts of their loved one. To this day, it remains unclear whether Jaballa Matar is still alive.

In November 2010, TRIAL therefore submitted an individual communication to the United Nations Human Rights Committee on behalf of the Jaballa Matar’s son asking the Committee, amongst other:

 

Context

Since the coup that brought Colonel Gaddafi to power in 1969, many opposition groups to his regime were created abroad. One of the most important of the opposition groups was the NFSL, which opposed military and dictatorial rule in Libya, and called for a democratic government with constitutional guarantees, free elections, a free press, and separation of powers among the executive, legislative, and judicial branches. The enforced disappearances of Mr. Jaballa Hamed Matar and Mr. Izzat Yousef Al-Maqrif, two high-ranking members of an opposition party operating abroad, took place in the context of the repression implemented by the Libyan government against members of those groups.

 

The Decision

The Human Rights Committee decided to deal jointly with the communications concerning the cases of Mr. Izzat Al-Maqrif and Mr. Jaballa Hamed Matar.

In March 2014, the Human Rights Committee communicated its decision (called “views” in the UN language). The Committee held that Libya violated Arts. 6, para. 1 (right to life); 7 (prohibition of torture); 9 (right to personal liberty); 10, para. 1 (right to humane treatment); and 16 (right to juridical personality), of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, alone and in conjunction with Art. 2, para. 3 (right to an effective remedy); with regard to Mr. Izzat Yousef Al-Maqrif and Mr. Jaballa Hamed Matar. The Committee also found a violation of Art. 7, read alone and in conjunction with Art. 2, para. 3, of the Covenant with respect to the authors of the communications because of the suffering inflicted on them by the enforced disappearance of their fathers. In the case of Mr. Youcif Almegaryaf, the Committee found also a violation of Art. 24, para. 1 (rights of the child), of the Covenant, given that he was 6 years old when his father was subjected to enforced disappearance and Libya failed to adopt the special measures of protection he was entitled to as a minor.

The Committee requested Libya to: (a) conduct a thorough and effective investigation into the disappearance of the two men; (b) provide the authors and their families with detailed information on the results of its investigation; (c) release Mr. Izzat Yousef Al-Maqrif and Mr. Jaballa Hamed Matar immediately, if they are still being detained incommunicado, or, in the event of their death, hand over their remains to their families; (d) prosecute, try and punish those responsible for the violations committed; and (e) provide adequate compensation. Libya must also publish the decision of the Committee and widely disseminate it.

Libya must inform the Committee within 180 days about the measures taken to implement the decision.

 

©2020 trialinternational.org | All rights reserved | Disclaimer | Statutes | Designed and Produced by ACW